- John S. Archibald (creator)
- John S. Archibald (archive creator)
John S. Archibald collection
Level of archival description:
Scope and content:
This collection documents two major projects of John S. Archibald's architectural work in Montreal : the Queen's Hotel and the St. Mary's Hospital. The firm Saxe and Archibald Architects Carried out several major additions to the Queen's Hotel (1909, 1912 and 1919) and, in 1925, John S. Archibald, Architect made another addition which is illustrated in this collection. In collaboration with the associate architect E. J. Turcotte, Archibald also designed the St. Mary's Hospital in 1931, and presented a project for an addition in 1938, which is illustrated in this collection.
This collection consists of two presentation drawings. The first one is a rendering of the banquet room for the Queen's Hotel in Montreal, dated 1926. The second one is a rendering for the St. Mary's Hospital in Montreal, dated 1938. These two renderings are both signed by artist and architect Hugh Percival Illsley, who worked at that period as a draftsman in the office of John S. Archibald.
JOHN SMITH ARCHIBALD
Inverness, Scotland, 1872 - Montréal, Québec, 1934
John Smith Archibald was born on December 14, 1872 in Inverness, Scotland. He was educated at local public and high schools in Inverness, and received his training in the architectural office of William MacIntosh in Inverness, from 1887 to 1893.
In 1893, he came to Canada and began his Canadian career in the office of Edward Maxwell in Montreal, where he was employed as a draughtsman and assistant. In 1897, Archibald left Maxwell's office with his colleague Charles Saxe to found a partnership under the name of Saxe & Archibald. Their works included schools, large residences, apartment buildings and office buildings. The Saxe & Archibald partnership was dissolved in 1915. After 1915, Archibald praticed alone and received numerous commissions, especially building and extending stations and hotels across Canada for the Canadian National Railway which was one his principal clients. His works also included school buildings, sports facilities, houses, hospitals and office buildings in Montréal, notably the Baron Byng High School and the Elizabeth Ballantyne School (1921), the Montreal Forum (1924) and the Montreal Baseball Stadium (1927), the Noah Timmins house in Westmount (1929), the Montreal Convalescent Hospital and St. Mary's Hospital (1931), the Masonic Memorial Temple (1928). A much in demand architect, his extensive work also included numerous warehouses, garages and industrial buildings. Archibald died on March 2, 1934 in Montreal.
After his death, his practice was resumed by his son Ian T. Archibald (1903-1971) and Hugh Percival Illsley (1896-1992) under the name Archibald and Illsley, which later continued with Francis Orr Templeton (1904-1972) as Archibald, Illsley and Templeton until 1950.
John S. Archibald became a member of the Province of Quebec Association of Architects in 1898 and served as its president in 1905. From 1906, he was a member of the Permanent Committee of the International Congress of Architects. He was president of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada from 1924 to 1925 and was made a Fellow in 1930. He also was a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts of England and a member of the Montreal Board of Trade.
Immediate source of acquisition or transfer:
- These two drawings were offered to the Canadian Centre for Architecture by Manuel Galego in 1995.
- The John S. Archibald collection was originally processed and described by Mourade Dièye Gueye in 1998. In 2009, the original finding aid was modified, by Alexis Lenk, in order to conform to updated documentation procedures.
Related units of description:
- The John S. Archibald and Associates Archive is held by the Canadian Architecture Collection of the Blackader-Lauterman Library of Architecture and Art at McGill University. However, the Queen's Hotel and St. Mary's Hospital projects are not represented in this archive.
A finding aid intitled, John S. Archibald and His Associates : A Guide to the Archive, was published by the Canadian Architecture Collection in 1990.