CCA c/o Dakar

2023-2026

The CCA c/o program has moved. CCA c/o Dakar will enrich the CCA’s investigation into questions related to the African continent as well as the environment (Centring Africa: Postcolonial Perspectives on Architecture and the publication Fugitive Archives: A Sourcebook for Centring Africa in Histories of Architecture) as we will explore the current architectural, urban, and social context of Dakar.

In summer 2023 we began collaborating with Nzinga B. Mboup to produce a series of public programs and research projects in Dakar. Mboup is an architect and curator, co-founder of Worofila, a practice that specialises in bioclimatic architecture and construction using earth and biomaterial sourced locally. Here, she reflects on her aims for our collaboration.


There are a series of questions that we face as architects living and working in Dakar at this point. As CCA c/o Dakar curator, I will explore two primary questions:

What is the material heritage of our cities and what can we learn from it?

What type of Senegalese architectural identity(ies) define our city?

As we move forward with this research program and begin to explore some answers to these questions and highlight the projects that begin to address them, it is important to employ a transdisciplinary approach to interrogate the role that the architecture we are producing plays in the construction of our societies and economies and to give the architect authority to act in the interest of the people.

This program will also be a way to activate the production and dissemination of knowledge in order to breed the ground for the collective appropriation of new forms of building and practice that respond to the preoccupation and evolution of Senegalese and African society.

Research Project 1 – DPLG-S: Senegalese architects and their architectures

For many young Senegalese architects like myself, we studied architecture abroad and never got to learn about the architectural history of Senegal. There are very little resources on the life and work of Senegalese architects and their architecture and many of the first Senegalese architects to formally register and open their practice are still alive today. The National School of Architecture operated in Dakar between 1971 and 1991 and created a generation of architects who were trained locally, engaged with their architectural history, and questioned their context. There are very little to no archives on the work that they produced.

This research project aims to paint a portrait of the first generations of Senegalese architects and understand their origins, where did the impetus to study architecture come from, what were their careers and forms of practice, what did they produce, and what is their legacy?

There is an opportunity to present these figures whilst understanding the historical, socio-cultural, and political context that they operate in, and also question what they think the role of an architect can be.

The outputs of this project will be a publication and a series of public events in the form of conversations and exhibitions to allow these architects to share their work and journey with the younger generation and to use the opportunity for inter-generational conversation, reflection, and framing of the challenges that lie ahead.

Research Project 2 – A compendium of building materials and constructive techniques of Senegal

Senegalese architecture has been produced through a series of materials both indigenous and imported. The reading of our architectural history can be done through the understating of the various materials used throughout space and time, their origins, their transformation and ultimately the character that they confer to buildings.

In a time when there is a regained interest in bio-sourced materials, their architectural expressions, their impact on the environment and local economies, assembling an atlas of the materials and constructive techniques of Senegalese architects can become a critical tool to define what type of architecture we want to create.

Senegalese context

Dakar is a vibrant and bubbling city that has long been one of Africa’s cultural capitals. From monumental historical events like the FESMAN in 1966 and the Biennale of Contemporary African Art, also known as Dak’Art, which is the continent’s largest contemporary art event, art and culture is everywhere in the city and cultural institutions1 are constantly opening doors and flourishing. The country is also known for its forward-thinking scientists and philosophers such as Cheikh Anta Diop and Felwine Sarr whose works have reminded us, as Africans today, of the rich cultural and scientific common heritage we hold and the necessity to (re)invent our modernity, in our own terms.

This heritage of art and culture at the forefront of the country’s identity is often attributed to our country’s first president, Leopold Sédar Senghor who was also an artist and poet and deliberately established a cultural policy to develop a modern Senegal. One of his theories, that of “asymmetrical parallelism” has inspired architects2 to create a distinctive post-modernist style, in which geometry is based on fractals and rhythm. The Law of Architecture of 1978 promulgated by Senghor stated that architectural creation must draw inspiration from the values of negro-African civilisation, particularly the “sudano-sahelian” whilst fulfilling the requirements of modernity.

We hold a range of architectural traditions dating from pre-colonial times with vernacular African architecture that showcased how to build durably with biomaterials in accordance with the climate. These traditions give us a range of constructive techniques but also of urbanism and establishes how to live communally and are still present in the city today as seen in the form of Penc3 and compound houses. These traditional forms are interwoven with other histories such as the colonial French buildings dating back to the 17th century, the Neo-Sahelian architecture of the 1930s of the Marché Sandaga, the bubble houses of Wallace Neff in the 1950s and the post-modern articulation of first Senegalese architects like in the Immeuble Faycal by Cheikh Ngom and the BCEAO tower of Atepa.

A true palimpsest city, Dakar has been a fertile ground for experimentation and forward-thinking and the place where a lot of questions about the future of cities are still being posed, some are unique to the context and others are universal. More specifically, we are faced with the challenges of defining what is the role of the architect, and of architecture, in a country of 18 million people, with less than 300 registered architects, and the absence of a National School of Architecture since 1991. For architects living and working in Dakar, research is critical to learning about the context despite the lack of resources specifically on architecture. To access knowledge and engage in a debate on the place of architecture in our societies, we have to think creatively and work across disciplines ranging from art, craft, anthropology, sociology, and history, and find a new language to convey ideas about architecture to the people and create archives and repositories to make knowledge available.

Community is key to how we, as Africans, relate to one another. As a young architect living in Dakar, I find it important to inscribe myself into a history and tradition where I am able to learn from my living ancestors, the first generation of architects in Senegal such as Cheikh Ngom, Pierre Goudiaby Atepa, Mbacké Niang, Annie Jouga, Jean-Charles Tall to name a few and confront the legacy of their practice with the challenges we face today. My contemporaries are also my teachers, and as a collective we are working together to start research projects such as Dakarmorphose4 or Habiter Dakar5. Most importantly, my practice of Worofila has enabled me to work with architects and engineers like Doudou Deme to define a language of bioclimatic architecture utilising raw earth and typha to make buildings that reduce the greenhouse-gas emissions of construction in a world where we are increasingly threatened by climate change exacerbated by uncontrolled rapid urbanisation with concrete, steel, and glass.


  1. Raw Material Company, Black Rock Senegal, Centre Yennenga, l’Ecole des Sables, Selebe Yoon, etc.  

  2. The Trade Fair of Dakar and the Musée Senghor are a few examples.  

  3. Refers to the civic center, often located under a tree around which various family compounds would be organised in traditional Lebu or Wolof settlements.  

  4. Dakarmorphose is a research project centred on the architectural and urban history of the indigenous people of Dakar as an entry point to question what is the value of the built heritage of Dakar.  

  5. Habiter Dakar is a research project that looks into the evolution of housing in Senegal and proposes an approach to conceptualise housing that addresses the socio-cultural, climatic and urban specificities of Dakar.  

1
1

Sign up to get news from us

Email address
First name
Last name
By signing up you agree to receive our newsletter and communications about CCA activities. You can unsubscribe at any time. For more information, consult our privacy policy or contact us.

Thank you for signing up. You'll begin to receive emails from us shortly.

We’re not able to update your preferences at the moment. Please try again later.

You’ve already subscribed with this email address. If you’d like to subscribe with another, please try again.

This email was permanently deleted from our database. If you’d like to resubscribe with this email, please contact us

Please complete the form below to buy:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Price [Price of book]

First name
Last name
Address (line 1)
Address (line 2) (optional)
Postal code
City
Country
Province/state
Email address
Phone (day) (optional)
Notes

Thank you for placing an order. We will contact you shortly.

We’re not able to process your request at the moment. Please try again later.

Folder ()

Your folder is empty.

Email:
Subject:
Notes:
Please complete this form to make a request for consultation. A copy of this list will also be forwarded to you.

Your contact information
First name:
Last name:
Email:
Phone number:
Notes (optional):
We will contact you to set up an appointment. Please keep in mind that your consultation date will be based on the type of material you wish to study. To prepare your visit, we'll need:
  • — At least 2 weeks for primary sources (prints and drawings, photographs, archival documents, etc.)
  • — At least 48 hours for secondary sources (books, periodicals, vertical files, etc.)
...

CCA c/o Dakar

2023-2026

Le programme CCA c/o a déménagé. Le programme CCA c/o Dakar enrichira les recherches du CCA sur les questions liées au continent africain et à l’environnement (Centrer l’Afrique : perspectives postcoloniales sur l’architecture et Fugitive Archives : A Sourcebook for Centring Africa in Histories of Architecture) en explorant le contexte architectural, urbain et social actuel de Dakar.

Depuis l’été 2023, nous avons entrepris une collaboration avec Nzinga B. Mboup pour produire une série de programmes publics et de projets de recherche à Dakar. Mboup est architecte et commissaire, cofondatrice de Worofila, une pratique spécialisée en architecture et construction bioclimatique utilisant de la terre et des biomatériaux de source locale. Elle nous livre ici ses réflexions sur les objectifs de notre collaboration.


En tant qu’architectes vivant et travaillant à Dakar, nous sommes confrontés à une série de questions. Comme commissaire de CCA c/o Dakar, je vais en explorer deux en particulier :

Quel est l’héritage matériel de nos villes et que peut-on en apprendre?

Quel type d’identité(s) architecturale(s) sénégalaise(s) définit notre ville?

Alors que nous allons de l’avant avec ce programme de recherche, que nous étudions certaines réponses à ces questions et que nous mettons en lumière les projets qui commencent à en traiter, il est important d’employer une approche transdisciplinaire pour interroger le rôle de l’architecture que nous produisons dans la construction de nos sociétés et économies, et pour donner à l’architecte l’autorité d’agir dans l’intérêt de la population.

Ce programme sera également un moyen d’activer la formulation et la diffusion de connaissances afin de préparer le terrain pour l’appropriation collective de nouvelles formes de bâtiments et de pratiques qui répondent aux préoccupations et à l’évolution de la société sénégalaise et africaine.

Projet de recherche 1 – DPLG-S : les architectes sénégalais et leurs architectures

De nombreux jeunes architectes sénégalais ont, comme moi, étudié à l’étranger et n’ont jamais eu l’occasion d’apprendre l’histoire architecturale du Sénégal. Peu de ressources existent sur la vie, le travail et les œuvres des architectes sénégalais, et un grand nombre de ces premières personnes à s’enregistrer formellement et à ouvrir leur agence sont toujours vivantes aujourd’hui. L’ Ecole d’Architecture et d’Urbanisme de Dakar a fonctionné à Dakar entre 1971 et 1991 et créé une génération de praticiens formés localement, engagés dans l’histoire de leur architecture et s’interrogeant sur le contexte de celle-ci. Il y a très peu, sinon pas d’archives sur le travail qu’ils ont réalisé.

Ce projet de recherche a pour objectif de tracer un portrait des premières générations d’architectes sénégalais et de comprendre leurs origines, leur motivation à étudier dans ce domaine, leurs carrières et formes de pratique, leur production et leur legs.

Voici une occasion de présenter ces figures tout en comprenant le contexte historique, socioculturel et politique dans lequel elles évoluent et d’explorer leur vision de ce que peut être le rôle d’un architecte.

Ce projet aboutira à une publication et une série d’événements publics sous forme de conversations et d’expositions qui permettront à ces architectes de faire connaître leur travail et leur parcours auprès de la jeune génération et de profiter de l’occasion pour engager un dialogue intergénérationnel, réfléchir aux défis qui nous attendent et les formuler.

Projet de recherche 2 – Répertoire des matériaux et techniques de construction du Sénégal

L’architecture sénégalaise a été produite à l’aide de matériaux locaux et importés. Nous pouvons lire notre histoire architecturale à travers une compréhension des différents matériaux utilisés dans l’espace et le temps, leurs origines, leurs transformations et finalement le caractère qu’ils confèrent aux bâtiments.

À une époque où l’on assiste à un regain d’intérêt pour les matériaux biosourcés et leur expression dans l’architecture, ainsi que pour leur impact sur l’environnement et l’économie, un atlas des composantes et techniques constructives employées par les praticiens sénégalais peut devenir un outil important dans la définition du type de bâtiments que nous désirons créer.

Contexte sénégalais

Dakar est une ville dynamique et bouillonnante qui est depuis longtemps l’une des capitales culturelles de l’Afrique. Qu’il s’agisse d’événements historiques importants comme le FESMAN en 1966 ou la Biennale de l’art africain contemporain, aussi connue sous le nom de Dak’Art, plus grande manifestation d’art contemporain du continent, l’art et la culture sont omniprésents dans la ville et des institutions culturelles1 ne cessent d’ouvrir leurs portes et de s’épanouir. Le pays est également reconnu pour ses scientifiques et philosophes visionnaires comme Cheikh Anta Diop et Felwine Sarr, dont les travaux nous ont rappelé, en tant qu’Africains d’aujourd’hui, le riche héritage culturel et scientifique commun qui est le nôtre et la nécessité de réinventer notre modernité selon nos propres termes.

Ce patrimoine d’art et de culture à l’avant-garde de l’identité du pays est souvent attribué à notre premier président, Léopold Sédar Senghor, aussi artiste et poète, qui a délibérément instauré une politique culturelle afin de développer un Sénégal moderne. Une de ses théories, celle du « parallélisme asymétrique », a inspiré les architectes2 à mettre en œuvre un style postmoderniste distinctif, dans lequel la géométrie est basée sur les fractales et le rythme. En vertu de la loi sur l’architecture promulguée en 1978 par Senghor, la création architecturale doit s’inspirer des valeurs de la civilisation négro-africaine, singulièrement « soudano-sahélienne », sans se départir des exigences de la modernité.

Nous possédons un éventail de traditions datant de l’époque précoloniale avec l’architecture vernaculaire africaine qui a montré comment bâtir durablement avec des biomatériaux en fonction du climat. Elles nous proposent des techniques de construction, mais aussi d’urbanisme, et établissent le vivre-ensemble en communauté. Elles sont encore présentes dans la ville d’aujourd’hui sous la forme du Penc3 et de maisons avec enceinte. Ces formes traditionnelles sont imbriquées dans d’autres histoires comme celles des bâtiments coloniaux français qui remontent au XVIIe siècle, de l’architecture néo-sahélienne des années 1930 représentée par le marché Sandaga, des maisons bulles de Wallace Neff des années 1950 et de l’articulation postmoderne par les premiers architectes sénégalais dans l’immeuble Fayçal de Cheikh Ngom et la tour de la BCEAO d’Atepa.

Véritable palimpseste, Dakar a été un terreau fertile à l’expérimentation et la réflexion prospective, ainsi que le lieu où de nombreuses questions sur l’avenir des villes sont encore posées, certaines étant propres au contexte et d’autres, universelles. Plus précisément, nous faisons face aux défis que représente la définition du rôle de l’architecte, et de celui de l’architecture, dans un pays de 18 millions d’habitants, qui compte moins de 300 architectes agréés et aucune école nationale d’architecture depuis 1991. Pour les architectes vivant et travaillant à Dakar, la recherche est essentielle pour en apprendre plus sur le contexte, malgré les lacunes en ressources dédiées. Pour accéder à la connaissance et engager un débat sur la place de l’architecture dans nos sociétés, nous devons faire preuve de créativité et travailler dans des disciplines telles que l’art, l’artisanat, l’anthropologie, la sociologie et l’histoire, trouver un nouveau langage pour transmettre les idées sur le sujet aux citoyens et créer des archives et des dépôts pour diffuser le savoir.

La communauté est un élément clé des relations entre les Africains. En tant que jeune architecte vivant à Dakar, j’estime important de m’inscrire dans une histoire et une tradition dans lesquelles je peux apprendre de mes prédécesseurs toujours vivants, la première génération de bâtisseurs du Sénégal, comme Cheikh Ngom, Pierre Goudiaby Atepa, Mbacké Niang, Annie Jouga, Jean-Charles Tall, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns, et confronter le legs de leur pratique aux défis d’aujourd’hui. Mes contemporains sont aussi mes professeurs et, en tant que collectif, nous travaillons ensemble pour lancer des projets de recherche comme Dakarmorphose4 ou Habiter Dakar5. Plus important encore, mon agence Worofila m’a permis de collaborer avec des architectes et des ingénieurs comme Doudou Deme à la définition d’un langage de l’architecture bioclimatique à partir de l’utilisation de terre crue et de typha afin de réaliser des bâtiments qui diminuent les gaz à effet de serre émis par la construction dans un monde où nous sommes de plus en plus menacés par les changements climatiques, exacerbés par une urbanisation rapide incontrôlée à base de béton, d’acier et de verre.


  1. Raw Material Company, Black Rock Senegal, Centre Yennenga, l’Ecole des Sables, Selebe Yoon, etc.  

  2. La Foire commerciale de Dakar et le Musée Senghor en sont quelques exemples.  

  3. Désigne le centre communautaire, souvent situé sous un arbre, autour duquel s’organisent les différents groupes familiaux dans les établissements traditionnels lébous ou wolofs.  

  4. Dakarmorphose est un projet de recherche centré sur l’histoire architecturale et urbaine des populations indigènes de Dakar comme point d’entrée pour s’interroger sur la valeur du patrimoine bâti de Dakar.  

  5. Habiter Dakar est un projet de recherche qui examine l’évolution de l’habitat au Sénégal et propose une approche de la conceptualisation de l’habitat qui tient compte des spécificités socioculturelles, climatiques et urbaines de Dakar.  

1
1

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir de nos nouvelles

Courriel
Prénom
Nom
En vous abonnant, vous acceptez de recevoir notre infolettre et communications au sujet des activités du CCA. Vous pouvez vous désabonner en tout temps. Pour plus d’information, consultez notre politique de confidentialité ou contactez-nous.

Merci. Vous êtes maintenant abonné. Vous recevrez bientôt nos courriels.

Pour le moment, notre système n’est pas capable de mettre à jour vos préférences. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Vous êtes déjà inscrit avec cette adresse électronique. Si vous souhaitez vous inscrire avec une autre adresse, merci de réessayer.

Cete adresse courriel a été définitivement supprimée de notre base de données. Si vous souhaitez vous réabonner avec cette adresse courriel, veuillez contactez-nous

Veuillez, s'il vous plaît, remplir le formulaire ci-dessous pour acheter:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Prix [Price of book]

Prénom
Nom de famille
Adresse (ligne 1)
Adresse (ligne 2) (optionnel)
Code postal
Ville
Pays
Province / État
Courriel
Téléphone (jour) (optionnel)
Notes

Merci d'avoir passé une commande. Nous vous contacterons sous peu.

Nous ne sommes pas en mesure de traiter votre demande pour le moment. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Classeur ()

Votre classeur est vide.

Adresse électronique:
Sujet:
Notes:
Veuillez remplir ce formulaire pour faire une demande de consultation. Une copie de cette liste vous sera également transmise.

Vos informations
Prénom:
Nom de famille:
Adresse électronique:
Numéro de téléphone:
Notes (optionnel):
Nous vous contacterons pour convenir d’un rendez-vous. Veuillez noter que des délais pour les rendez-vous sont à prévoir selon le type de matériel que vous souhaitez consulter, soit :"
  • — au moins 2 semaines pour les sources primaires (dessins et estampes, photographies, documents d’archives, etc.)
  • — au moins 48 heures pour les sources secondaires (livres, périodiques, dossiers documentaires, etc.)
...