CCA c/o Tokyo

2018–2020

Over the course of 2018-2020, we are working with Kayoko Ota, an architectural curator and editor based in Tokyo and commissioner of the Japanese pavilion at the 2014 Venice Biennale, to develop research and facilitate public engagement with our projects in Tokyo.

2018: Islands and Villages

To launch c/o Tokyo, we commissioned a multi-part documentary on the posturban phenomenon in Japan. Traveling to small villages and tiny islands far from Tokyo, Ota explores how, in place of the conventional system of commissioning, a new kind of exchange is emerging between architects and rural communities. The documentary—which features Toyo Ito, Atelier Bow-Wow, Kazuyo Sejima, Toshikatsu Ienari, and Hajime Ishikawa—premiered within a larger online editorial project focused on nonurban cities, providing the perspective of another culture to an ongoing CCA investigation.

2019: Meanwhile in Japan

Four decades ago, coinciding with the postmodern period in the West, a number of young architects in Japan challenged their professional status quo with experimental proposals for housing and big structures. As the country took a consumer-oriented, deregulatory turn, these architects took actions to liberate architecture from a regime of imported conventions and modernist concerns. “Meanwhile in Japan” is a series of interviews and conversations, aimed at documenting this moment through a new perspective and querying today’s generational struggle to redefine architecture in Japan.

Hiroshi Hara, Toyo Ito, and Itsuko Hasegawa are the protagonists of three sessions. Before each session, Kayoko Ota joined a team of scholars with diverse backgrounds including building systems design, history of modern Asian architecture and urbanism, social entrepreneurship, and sociology—Kozo Kadowaki, Koji Ichikawa, Yutaro Muraji, and Mikio Wakabayashi—to build a new understanding of each protagonist from the late 1970s to the early 1990s. This multi-disciplinary team asked the architect-interviewee to share not only architectural works but also their archived notes, photographs, and other materials that reveal their thinking and concurrent activities. Based on this research, each session then frames an ‘intimate interrogation’ with its protagonist followed by an expanded discussion with additional guest critics.

The three sessions was each hold at a location where the featured protagonist keeps his or her archive or holds a personal attachment to a particular moment in history. These small and intimate spaces will host the work of an ongoing research, so the sessions were closed to the public. Their results are reported here on the website and also in three books that document the interviews, discussions, and archives of Hara, Ito, and Hasegawa. The CCA Single Itsuko Hasegawa with Kozo Kadowaki and others has been published in March 2021, and both other books will be available soon in 2022.

Articles have also been published within the framework of these researches: An Architect Who Works With Citizens, article where Kozo Kadowaki discusses on the Shonandai Cultural Centre by Itsuko Hasegawa, Bridging a Chasm, an article where Koji Ichikawa discusses Toyo Ito’s experimental work as part of the Commodified Housing Study Group, as well as Poking Holes in Modern Space, where Mikio Wakabayashi inquires on the thoughts and actions of Hiroshi Hara.

Japanese architecture from this period is known to encompass the simultaneous emergence of various experimental architectural expressions. Though architectural works are internationally recognized, for example in the writings of Charles Jencks and Kenneth Frampton, discourse has generally remained on a formal level. “Meanwhile in Japan” seeks to unearth the aims and strategies of architects, beyond mere preoccupations with form and toward their quickly modernizing and urbanizing landscape, to question which tactics worked and which did not, what visions have survived, and what lessons can be learned.

2020–2021: Models Talk

Models Talk is a series of three short videos that profiles recent building projects from Kazuko Akamatsu, Kumiko Inui and Erika Nakagawa, emerging from Japan’s contemporary urban conditions.

Socially engaged approaches in architecture, including participatory design, reprogramming, and minimum intervention, are increasingly common—but often yield predictable results. This series focuses instead on works that challenge convention in order to address current urban issues, and uses the particularities of video as a format to convey the ideas defining these works.

In each video—conceived by Kayoko Ota and directed by Studio GROSS (Tokyo and Berlin)—one architect leads the viewer through a model that acts as a guide by way of the problems, concepts, and inventive propositions that underlie the work. Motivated by the desire to illustrate architectural concepts and make them more easily accessible, Models Talk gives a platform to three architects working through contemporary challenges to express their proposals.

Articles

Events

Event, in English and Japanese, Embassy of Canada to Japan, Tokyo, 8 November 2019, 5pm
Event, in English, online, 8 December 2021, 8pm (Montréal) / 10am (9 December, Japan)
Event, Soukairou Hall, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies, Tokyo, 21 June 2018, 6:30pm
1
1

Sign up to get news from us

Email address
First name
Last name
By signing up you agree to receive our newsletter and communications about CCA activities. You can unsubscribe at any time. For more information, consult our privacy policy or contact us.

Thank you for signing up. You'll begin to receive emails from us shortly.

We’re not able to update your preferences at the moment. Please try again later.

You’ve already subscribed with this email address. If you’d like to subscribe with another, please try again.

This email was permanently deleted from our database. If you’d like to resubscribe with this email, please contact us

Please complete the form below to buy:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Price [Price of book]

First name
Last name
Address (line 1)
Address (line 2) (optional)
Postal code
City
Country
Province/state
Email address
Phone (day) (optional)
Notes

Thank you for placing an order. We will contact you shortly.

We’re not able to process your request at the moment. Please try again later.

Folder ()

Your folder is empty.

Email:
Subject:
Notes:
Please complete this form to make a request for consultation. A copy of this list will also be forwarded to you.

Your contact information
First name:
Last name:
Email:
Phone number:
Notes (optional):
We will contact you to set up an appointment. Please keep in mind that your consultation date will be based on the type of material you wish to study. To prepare your visit, we'll need:
  • — At least 2 weeks for primary sources (prints and drawings, photographs, archival documents, etc.)
  • — At least 48 hours for secondary sources (books, periodicals, vertical files, etc.)
...

CCA c/o Tokyo

2018-2020

Au cours des années 2018-2020, nous travaillons avec Kayoko Ota – une commissaire et éditrice spécialisée en architecture basée à Tokyo, ayant assumé le commissariat du pavillon japonais lors de la Biennale de Venise en 2014 –, pour développer des recherches et encourager la participation du public à nos projets à Tokyo.

2018 : Îles et villages

Pour lancer c/o Tokyo, nous avons commandé un documentaire en plusieurs volets sur le phénomène posturbain au Japon. Visitant des petits villages et des îles minuscules loin de Tokyo, Ota étudie l’émergence d’un nouveau mode d’échange entre les architectes et les communautés rurales, au sein desquelles il remplace le système de commissionnement conventionnel. Le documentaire – qui donne la parole à Toyo Ito, Atelier Bow-Wow, Kazuyo Sejima, Toshikatsu Ienari et Hajime Ishikawa – a été présenté en première dans le cadre d’un projet éditorial en ligne plus large au sujet des villes non urbaines, apportant ainsi le point de vue d’une culture différente à des recherches menées par le CCA.

2019 : Pendant ce temps au Japon

Il y a 40 ans, à l’époque du postmodernisme en Occident, plusieurs jeunes architectes japonais mettent en cause leur statu quo professionnel en soumettant des propositions expérimentales pour des habitations et de grandes structures. Dans un Japon qui se tourne vers les consommateurs et la dérégulation, ces architectes tentent de libérer l’architecture d’un régime de conventions importées et de préoccupations modernistes. « Pendant ce temps au Japon », série d’entrevues et de conversations qui documentent cette époque selon un nouveau point de vue, interroge les luttes générationnelles actuelles afin de redéfinir l’architecture au Japon.

Hiroshi Hara, Toyo Ito et Itsuko Hasegawa sont les protagonistes de trois séances. Avant chacune d’elle, Kayoko Ota s’est joint à Kozo Kadowaki, Koji Ichikawa, Yutaro Muraji et Mikio Wakabayashi – des spécialistes de divers domaines tels que la conception de systèmes, l’histoire de l’architecture asiatique moderne et l’urbanisme, l’entreprenariat social et la sociologie –, afin mettre en lumière le travail réalisé par chaque protagoniste entre la fin des années 1970 et le début des années 1990. L’équipe multidisciplinaire a demandé à l’architecte interrogé de montrer non seulement des œuvres architecturales mais aussi des notes d’archives, des photographies et autres documents qui témoignent de ses réflexions et activités parallèles. Fondée sur cette recherche, chaque séance a permis de cerner « une interrogation intime » avec le protagoniste, suivie par une discussion élargie avec d’autres critiques invités.

Chacune des trois séances s’est tenue dans un lieu où le protagoniste conserve ses archives ou maintient un attachement personnel à un moment particulier dans l’histoire. Puisque ces petits espaces intimes hébergent les travaux d’une recherche en cours, les sessions ont été fermées au public. Leurs résultats sont présentés ici, sur le site Web, ainsi que dans trois livres qui documentent les entretiens, les discussions et les archives de Hara, Ito et Hasegawa. Le CCA Single Itsuko Hasegawa with Kozo Kadowaki and others est paru en mars 2021, et les deux prochains ouvrages seront disponibles prochainement en 2022.

Des articles sont également parus dans le cadre de ces recherches: Une architecte qui travaille avec les citoyens, article dans lequel Kozo Kadowaki traite du Centre culturel Shonandai d’Itsuko Hasegawa, ainsi qu’Ouvrir des brèches dans l’espace moderne, où Mikio Wakabayashi interroge les pensées et les actions de Hiroshi Hara.

On sait que l’architecture japonaise de cette époque englobe l’émergence simultanée de diverses expressions d’architecture expérimentale. Si les œuvres architecturales jouissent d’une reconnaissance internationale, dont témoignent par exemple les écrits de Charles Jencks et de Kenneth Frampton, le discours s’en tient au plan formel. « Pendant ce temps au Japon » tente de dévoiler les visées et les stratégies des architectes, par delà les simples préoccupations de forme et vers le paysage qui se modernise et s’urbanise rapidement, afin d’examiner les tactiques qui ont fonctionné et celles qui ont échoué, les visions qui ont survécu et les leçons qu’on peut en tirer.

2020-2021 : Discussion de maquettes

Discussion de maquettes est une série de trois courtes vidéos qui présente des projets récents de Kazuko Akamatsu, Kumiko Inui et Erika Nakagawa, issus des conditions urbaines contemporaines au Japon.

Les approches socialement engagées en architecture, notamment la conception participative, la reprogrammation et l’intervention minimale, sont de plus en plus courantes, mais donnent souvent lieu à des résultats prévisibles. Cette série se concentre plutôt sur des œuvres qui remettent en question les conventions dans le but d’aborder les enjeux urbains actuels. Elle utilise les particularités de la vidéo comme format pour transmettre les idées qui définissent ces œuvres.

Dans chaque vidéo — conçue par Kayoko Ota et réalisée par Studio GROSS (Tokyo et Berlin) — une architecte utilise une maquette pour présenter les problèmes, les concepts et les propositions inventives qui sous-tendent son œuvre. Discussion de maquettes cherche à illustrer des concepts architecturaux et à les rendre plus facilement accessibles en offrant une plateforme à trois architectes qui travaillent sur des défis contemporains pour leur permettre d’exprimer leurs propositions.

Articles

Événements

Événement, en anglais , en ligne, 8 décembre 2021, 20h (Montréal) / 10h (9 décembre, Japon)
Événement, en anglais et japonais, Ambassade du Canada au Japon, Tokyo, 8 novembre 2019, 17h
Événement, Soukairou Hall, National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies, Tokyo, 21 juin 2018, 18h30
1
1

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir de nos nouvelles

Courriel
Prénom
Nom
En vous abonnant, vous acceptez de recevoir notre infolettre et communications au sujet des activités du CCA. Vous pouvez vous désabonner en tout temps. Pour plus d’information, consultez notre politique de confidentialité ou contactez-nous.

Merci. Vous êtes maintenant abonné. Vous recevrez bientôt nos courriels.

Pour le moment, notre système n’est pas capable de mettre à jour vos préférences. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Vous êtes déjà inscrit avec cette adresse électronique. Si vous souhaitez vous inscrire avec une autre adresse, merci de réessayer.

Cete adresse courriel a été définitivement supprimée de notre base de données. Si vous souhaitez vous réabonner avec cette adresse courriel, veuillez contactez-nous

Veuillez, s'il vous plaît, remplir le formulaire ci-dessous pour acheter:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Prix [Price of book]

Prénom
Nom de famille
Adresse (ligne 1)
Adresse (ligne 2) (optionnel)
Code postal
Ville
Pays
Province / État
Courriel
Téléphone (jour) (optionnel)
Notes

Merci d'avoir passé une commande. Nous vous contacterons sous peu.

Nous ne sommes pas en mesure de traiter votre demande pour le moment. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Classeur ()

Votre classeur est vide.

Adresse électronique:
Sujet:
Notes:
Veuillez remplir ce formulaire pour faire une demande de consultation. Une copie de cette liste vous sera également transmise.

Vos informations
Prénom:
Nom de famille:
Adresse électronique:
Numéro de téléphone:
Notes (optionnel):
Nous vous contacterons pour convenir d’un rendez-vous. Veuillez noter que des délais pour les rendez-vous sont à prévoir selon le type de matériel que vous souhaitez consulter, soit :"
  • — au moins 2 semaines pour les sources primaires (dessins et estampes, photographies, documents d’archives, etc.)
  • — au moins 48 heures pour les sources secondaires (livres, périodiques, dossiers documentaires, etc.)
...