1
1
Guide to archival holdings

Our collection is characterized by the presence of archives of complete works or projects that provide insight into the genesis and materialization of architectural ideas. The scope of the archives has changed over the years, with an increasingly contemporary and international focus.

The early years of the CCA were marked by acquisitions of Canadian archives, starting with those of Ernest Cormier and some of his contemporaries (such as Ludger and Paul M. Lemieux and Ross & Macdonald) and spanning the development of modernity in Quebec with the archives of Pierre Dionne, Jean Michaud, Guy Gérin-Lajoie, and several Arcop Group projects. During the 1990s, this direction was expanded with the acquisition of archives of practices active in the postwar period and particularly the 1960s and 1970s, such as those of Arthur Erickson, Humphrey Carver, and van Ginkel Associates, as well as of the landscape architect Cornelia Hahn Oberlander.

The collection further developed as a source for research on Modernism through international archival collections on the work of Erik Gunnar Asplund, The Crystal Chain group, J.J.P. Oud, Mart Stam, Frank Lloyd Wright, and over eight hundred drawings, notes, and photographs by and related to the work of Ludwig Mies van der Rohe. The generous donation in 2011 of the Pierre Jeanneret archive complements our Le Corbusier collection, ranging in date from 1911 to 1965, which is the most significant outside France.

Starting in the late 1990s, the CCA actively pursued archival acquisitions of contemporary practices, including those of Peter Eisenman, John Hejduk, Gordon Matta-Clark, Cedric Price, Aldo Rossi, and James Stirling/Michael Wilford. This line of acquisitions moves into the twenty-first century with the generous donations of the archives of Álvaro Siza, Ábalos&Herreros, and Foreign Office Architects.

This activity is now primarily developed via gifts from work featured in CCA exhibitions and a growing interest in experimental practices in the area of environmental design. These include works by Gilles Clément and Philippe Rahm from the exhibition Environ(ne)ment; models by Ryue Nishizawa and Stephen Taylor featured in Some Ideas on Living in London and Tokyo, digital drawings and models of Greg Lynn’s Embryological House; early projects by Alessandro Poli in connection with the exhibition Other Space Odysseys; and projects by Bijoy Jain and Umberto Riva exhibited in Rooms You May Have Missed.

As part of the Archaeology of the Digital program—an investigation launched in 2012 into the incorporation of digital tools in architectural practice—we are facing new challenges regarding the preservation, description, and accessibility of digital archives. Archives now being processed include projects by Office dA, COOP HIMMELB(L)AU, Mark Goulthorpe, and R&Sie(n). Archives recently processed include Karl Chu, Preston Scott Cohen, Chuck Hoberman, Neil Denari, RUR Architecture, Johan Bettum, Kivi Sotamaa, Kas Oosterhuis, Ulrich Königs, KOL/MAC, Asymptote, Zaha Hadid Architects, and Morphosis.

The following list of archives held at the CCA is organized alphabetically by last name, firm name, or project name.

No results match your query.

1
1

Sign up to get news from us

Email address
First name
Last name
By signing up you agree to receive our newsletter and communications about CCA activities. You can unsubscribe at any time. For more information, consult our privacy policy or contact us.

Thank you for signing up. You'll begin to receive emails from us shortly.

We’re not able to update your preferences at the moment. Please try again later.

You’ve already subscribed with this email address. If you’d like to subscribe with another, please try again.

This email was permanently deleted from our database. If you’d like to resubscribe with this email, please contact us

Please complete the form below to buy:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Price [Price of book]

First name
Last name
Address (line 1)
Address (line 2) (optional)
Postal code
City
Country
Province/state
Email address
Phone (day) (optional)
Notes

Thank you for placing an order. We will contact you shortly.

We’re not able to process your request at the moment. Please try again later.

Folder ()

Your folder is empty.

Email:
Subject:
Notes:
Please complete this form to make a request for consultation. A copy of this list will also be forwarded to you.

Your contact information
First name:
Last name:
Email:
Phone number:
Notes (optional):
We will contact you to set up an appointment. Please keep in mind that your consultation date will be based on the type of material you wish to study. To prepare your visit, we'll need:
  • — At least 2 weeks for primary sources (prints and drawings, photographs, archival documents, etc.)
  • — At least 48 hours for secondary sources (books, periodicals, vertical files, etc.)
...

1
1
En
Guide des archives

Notre collection se distingue par la présence d’archives incluant des travaux ou des projets complets qui donnent un aperçu de la genèse et de la matérialisation de concepts architecturaux. Le contenu des archives a évolué au fil des ans, accordant de plus en plus de place aux œuvres contemporaines et internationales.

Le CCA a acquis, dès ses débuts, des archives canadiennes, dont celles d’Ernest Cormier et de quelques contemporains tels que Ludger et Paul M. Lemieux ainsi que Ross & Macdonald. Ces archives se sont étendues au développement de la modernité au Québec, avec les archives de Pierre Dionne, de Jean Michaud, de Guy Gérin-Lajoie, et avec plusieurs projets du Groupe Arcop. Pendant les années 1990, le CCA a continué cette position, en acquérant les archives de firmes actives durant l’après-guerre, en particulier dans les années 1960 et 1970, comme celles d’Arthur Erickson, de Humphrey Carver, de van Ginkel et de l’architecte paysagiste Cornelia Hahn Oberlander.

La collection s’est ensuite développée en tant que source de recherche sur le modernisme, grâce aux collections d’archives internationales témoignant des travaux d’Erik Gunnar Asplund, du groupe Chrystal Chain, de J.J.P. Oud, de Mart Stam et de Frank Lloyd Wright, ainsi que plus de 800 dessins, notes et photographies réalisés par Ludwig Mies van der Rohe ou portant sur son travail. Le don généreux des archives de Pierre Jeanneret inclut une documentation parue entre 1911 et 1965. Reçues en 2011, ces archives complètent notre collection sur Le Corbusier, la plus importante conservée hors de France.

À partir de la fin des années 1990, le CCA a poursuivi activement l’acquisition d’archives contemporaines, dont celles de Peter Eisenman, de John Hejduk, de Gordon Matta-Clark, de Cedric Price, d’Aldo Rossi et de James Stirling/Michael Wilford. Il poursuit cette orientation au XXIe siècle grâce aux dons généreux des archives d’Álvaro Siza, d’Ábalos & Herreros et de Foreign Office.

Le don de pièces présentées dans les expositions du CCA permet au musée de continuer à collectionner des archives contemporaines, en particulier celles qui concernent les pratiques expérimentales et le design environnemental. Le CCA s’est ainsi enrichi de travaux de Gilles Clément et de Philippe Rahm lors de l’exposition Environ(ne)ment; de maquettes de Ryue Nishizawa et de Stephen Taylor présentées dans Perspectives de vie à Londres et à Tokyo; de dessins numériques et de maquettes de l’Embryological House de Greg Lynn; des premiers projets d’Alessandro Poli en lien avec l’exposition Autres odyssées de l’espace; et des projets de Bijoy Jain et d’Umberto Riva exposés dans Des pièces à ne pas manquer.

Dans le cadre du programme Archéologie du numérique, lancé en 2012 pour examiner l’intégration d’outils numériques dans la pratique architecturale, nous avons affronté de nouveaux défis concernant la préservation, la description, et l’accessibilité d’archives numériques. Les archives en cours de traitement incluent des projets réalisés par Office dA, COOP HIMMELB(L)AU, Mark Goulthorpe et R&Sie(n). Les archives récemment traitées incluent Karl Chu, Preston Scott Cohen, Chuck Hoberman, Neil Denari, RUR Architecture, Johan Bettum, Kivi Sotamaa, Kas Oosterhuis, Ulrich Königs, KOL/MAC, Asymptote, Zaha Hadid Architects et Morphosis.

La liste suivante des archives conservées à la CCA est organisée par ordre alphabétique selon le nom de famille, le nom de l’entreprise ou le nom du projet.

Aucun résultat ne correspond à votre requête.

1
1

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir de nos nouvelles

Courriel
Prénom
Nom
En vous abonnant, vous acceptez de recevoir notre infolettre et communications au sujet des activités du CCA. Vous pouvez vous désabonner en tout temps. Pour plus d’information, consultez notre politique de confidentialité ou contactez-nous.

Merci. Vous êtes maintenant abonné. Vous recevrez bientôt nos courriels.

Pour le moment, notre système n’est pas capable de mettre à jour vos préférences. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Vous êtes déjà inscrit avec cette adresse électronique. Si vous souhaitez vous inscrire avec une autre adresse, merci de réessayer.

Cete adresse courriel a été définitivement supprimée de notre base de données. Si vous souhaitez vous réabonner avec cette adresse courriel, veuillez contactez-nous

Veuillez, s'il vous plaît, remplir le formulaire ci-dessous pour acheter:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Prix [Price of book]

Prénom
Nom de famille
Adresse (ligne 1)
Adresse (ligne 2) (optionnel)
Code postal
Ville
Pays
Province / État
Courriel
Téléphone (jour) (optionnel)
Notes

Merci d'avoir passé une commande. Nous vous contacterons sous peu.

Nous ne sommes pas en mesure de traiter votre demande pour le moment. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Classeur ()

Votre classeur est vide.

Adresse électronique:
Sujet:
Notes:
Veuillez remplir ce formulaire pour faire une demande de consultation. Une copie de cette liste vous sera également transmise.

Vos informations
Prénom:
Nom de famille:
Adresse électronique:
Numéro de téléphone:
Notes (optionnel):
Nous vous contacterons pour convenir d’un rendez-vous. Veuillez noter que des délais pour les rendez-vous sont à prévoir selon le type de matériel que vous souhaitez consulter, soit :"
  • — au moins une semaine pour les sources primaires (dessins et estampes, photographies, documents d’archives, etc.)
  • — au moins 24 heures pour les sources secondaires (livres, périodiques, dossiers documentaires, etc.)
...