Querido Amancio, organized on the occasion of our new Amancio Williams fonds, featured a public reading of personal letters during which participants—Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Williams, and Claudio Vekstein—commented on the legacy of Amancio Williams. We will be publishing all of their letters in the coming weeks.

Juan Herreros shared the following:


My dear Amancio,

Like many restless youths in those years, the first time I saw your work in its entirety was in the publication compiled by Jorge Silvetti on the occasion of the exhibition at Harvard in 1987. Until then, all my encounters with your work had been through disjointed revelations in the magazine Summa, the back issues of which we consumed avidly in a grey Spain, or in odd issues of Architecture d’Aujourd’hui that we happened upon.

That publication laid the foundations for a devotion to your work that was rewarded in 1991 when I came across the accordion book that you yourself had imagined in 1977 and that Claudio Vekstein so neatly put together. You had recently left us, and it was there that I read your famous litany, “create, invent, discover.” I was pleased to receive affirmation that being an architect requires us to understand that the activity supporting our action is design, and that the fundamental instrument of architectural design is the project. Architects transform everything they want to do into a project. That was your life, and that was your lesson.

Back then, I was embroiled in the search for a way to integrate architectural ideals and available techniques, a reflection that still permeates my theoretical, teaching, and professional work today.

Precisely because it is so difficult to see clearly in that blurred territory where our discipline meets technique, at times of doubt your curiosity, perseverance, and ambition have provided a model in the face of the need to maintain a critical stance that trusts in the capacity of the project to address novelty.

During my first visit to Buenos Aires in 1996, after we left his favourite restaurant, Bucho Baliero took me to see the lobby of the laboratories on Calle Juncal. A few years later, one spring evening, as an inveterate devotee, I was able to visit the reconstruction of your umbrellas in Vicente López. There, I felt deep sorrow for all your works destroyed and for the difficulty of materializing many of your projects that would have inspired faith in the ability of architecture to make the dreams of an era come true.

Today, I think I can add your dedication to the invention of typologies to my reasons for admiration. Maintaining a judicious distance from blind functionalist positivism and displaying an integrative desire for the most creative technique, the questions raised by your work will accompany us always: the stepped building, the building on stilts, the large fitted space under a big roof, the compact container, the monument…and also the need for urban and territorial planning with the added value of improving people’s lives. Note that I refer not to programmes but to building types in search of a possibilistic synthesis at the limit of the knowledge of the time.

Decades later, in these times when it is vital to have an agenda and to move around within the liminal spaces that define our profession’s relation with the world, we all know that this exercise steers between acceptance of contingencies and the uncertainty that so frequently leads to frustration. Such is the fragility in which we architects live, that while works that could have been wonderful are left on paper, others that did get built could, any day, go up in flames or be subjected to fatal mutilation. But here I tell you that none of this has been in vain and that, in the work that you have given us, your committed colleagues find flashes of guidance to tell us that everything makes sense, perfect sense.

With the hope that our profession finds the place in the world that you dreamt of, I sign off with warmest wishes.

Juan Herreros
Madrid, 20 February 2020

PS I have never had the opportunity to visit your Bridge House. I hope to do so soon and to tell you about the experience.

1
1

Sign up to get news from us

Email address
First name
Last name
By signing up you agree to receive our newsletter and communications about CCA activities. You can unsubscribe at any time. For more information, consult our privacy policy or contact us.

Thank you for signing up. You'll begin to receive emails from us shortly.

We’re not able to update your preferences at the moment. Please try again later.

You’ve already subscribed with this email address. If you’d like to subscribe with another, please try again.

This email was permanently deleted from our database. If you’d like to resubscribe with this email, please contact us

Please complete the form below to buy:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Price [Price of book]

First name
Last name
Address (line 1)
Address (line 2) (optional)
Postal code
City
Country
Province/state
Email address
Phone (day) (optional)
Notes

Thank you for placing an order. We will contact you shortly.

We’re not able to process your request at the moment. Please try again later.

Folder ()

Your folder is empty.

Email:
Subject:
Notes:
Please complete this form to make a request for consultation. A copy of this list will also be forwarded to you.

Your contact information
First name:
Last name:
Email:
Phone number:
Notes (optional):
We will contact you to set up an appointment. Please keep in mind that your consultation date will be based on the type of material you wish to study. To prepare your visit, we'll need:
  • — At least 2 weeks for primary sources (prints and drawings, photographs, archival documents, etc.)
  • — At least 48 hours for secondary sources (books, periodicals, vertical files, etc.)
...

Querido Amancio, organisée à l’occasion de notre nouveau fonds Amancio Williams, a donné lieu à une lecture publique de lettres personnelles, au cours de laquelle les participants - Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Williams et Claudio Vekstein - ont commenté l’héritage d’Amancio Williams. Nous publierons toutes leurs lettres dans les prochaines semaines.

Juan Herreros a fait part de ce qui suit :


Mon cher Amancio,

Comme tant de jeunes inquiets pendant ces années-là, j’ai pu voir l’ensemble de ton œuvre pour la première fois dans le recueil de Jorge Silvetti publié en 1987, dans le cadre de l’exposition à Harvard. Jusque-là, toutes mes rencontres avec ton travail avaient été grâce à des surprises décousues dans la revue Summa, dont nous dévorions les numéros qui nous tombaient sous la main dans une Espagne grise, ou dans des exemplaires égarés de L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui.

Cette publication a cristallisé un vif enthousiasme pour ton travail qui a été comblé en 1991 quand m’est tombé dans les mains le livre accordéon que tu avais imaginé en 1977 et que Claudio Vekstein a composé avec art. Tu venais de partir, et c’est là que j’ai lu la fameuse litanie « créer, inventer, découvrir ». Ce fut un plaisir de corroborer le fait qu’être architecte demande de comprendre que l’activité qui soutient notre action est le dessin et que l’instrument fondamental du dessin architectural est le projet. Un architecte transforme tout ce qu’il veut faire en un projet. Telle fut ta vie et telle fut ta leçon.

Pendant ces années-là, j’ai été impliqué dans la recherche d’un moyen d’intégrer les idéaux architecturaux et techniques disponibles, une réflexion qui imprègne encore aujourd’hui mon travail théorique, professionnel et dans l’enseignement.

Précisément parce qu’il est difficile de voir clair dans le territoire incertain où notre discipline se mesure avec la technique, dans les moments de doute, ta curiosité, ta persévérance et ton ambition se sont avérés un modèle devant l’exigence de maintenir un positionnement critique confiant dans la capacité du projet à affronter le nouveau.

Lors de ma première visite à Buenos Aires, en 1996, à la sortie de son restaurant favori, Bucho Valiero m’a emmené voir l’entrée des laboratoires Juncal. Un soir de printemps quelques années plus tard, fétichiste invétéré, je suis passé devant la reconstruction de tes parapluies à Vicente López. J’ai ressenti une profonde tristesse en pensant à tes œuvres détruites et à la difficulté qu’ont eue plusieurs de tes projets à se matérialiser. Ils auraient pu cimenter chez d’autres la confiance en la capacité de l’architecture à donner corps aux rêves de toute une époque.

Je crois pouvoir ajouter aujourd’hui à mes motifs d’admiration ton dévouement à l’invention typologique. En te maintenant à une juste distance du positivisme fonctionnaliste aveugle et en déployant une ardeur intégratrice envers la technique axée sur la création, tu as soulevé par ton travail des questions qui nous accompagneront toujours : l’édifice étagé, la tour suspendue, le grand espace équipé sous une couverture, le conteneur compact, le monument… ainsi que la nécessité de la planification urbaine et territoriale avec la valeur ajoutée d’améliorer la vie des personnes. Sois assuré que je ne parle pas de programmes mais de types constructifs à la recherche d’une synthèse possibiliste à la limite de la connaissance du moment.

Des décennies plus tard, à une époque où il est indispensable de tenir un agenda et de se déplacer aux confins de ce qui définit la relation de notre profession avec le monde, nous savons que cet exercice navigue entre l’acceptation des contingences et l’incertitude tant de fois mutée en frustration. Telle est la fragilité qui habite les architectes : pendant que des œuvres qui auraient pu être merveilleuses demeurent sur papier, d’autres qui se réalisent risquent de tomber en pâture aux lamas ou de subir des mutilations fatales. Mais d’ici, je te dis que rien n’a été fait en vain et que tous tes collègues engagés doivent au travail que tu nous as légué des éclairs référentiels qui font que tout a du sens, beaucoup de sens.

En souhaitant que notre profession trouve la place dans le monde dont tu rêvais, je t’embrasse affectueusement.

Juan Herreros
Madrid, le 20 février 2020

P.S. : Je n’ai jamais eu l’occasion de visiter la Maison sur le pont. J’espère le faire bientôt et te parler de mon expérience.

1
1

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir de nos nouvelles

Courriel
Prénom
Nom
En vous abonnant, vous acceptez de recevoir notre infolettre et communications au sujet des activités du CCA. Vous pouvez vous désabonner en tout temps. Pour plus d’information, consultez notre politique de confidentialité ou contactez-nous.

Merci. Vous êtes maintenant abonné. Vous recevrez bientôt nos courriels.

Pour le moment, notre système n’est pas capable de mettre à jour vos préférences. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Vous êtes déjà inscrit avec cette adresse électronique. Si vous souhaitez vous inscrire avec une autre adresse, merci de réessayer.

Cete adresse courriel a été définitivement supprimée de notre base de données. Si vous souhaitez vous réabonner avec cette adresse courriel, veuillez contactez-nous

Veuillez, s'il vous plaît, remplir le formulaire ci-dessous pour acheter:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Prix [Price of book]

Prénom
Nom de famille
Adresse (ligne 1)
Adresse (ligne 2) (optionnel)
Code postal
Ville
Pays
Province / État
Courriel
Téléphone (jour) (optionnel)
Notes

Merci d'avoir passé une commande. Nous vous contacterons sous peu.

Nous ne sommes pas en mesure de traiter votre demande pour le moment. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Classeur ()

Votre classeur est vide.

Adresse électronique:
Sujet:
Notes:
Veuillez remplir ce formulaire pour faire une demande de consultation. Une copie de cette liste vous sera également transmise.

Vos informations
Prénom:
Nom de famille:
Adresse électronique:
Numéro de téléphone:
Notes (optionnel):
Nous vous contacterons pour convenir d’un rendez-vous. Veuillez noter que des délais pour les rendez-vous sont à prévoir selon le type de matériel que vous souhaitez consulter, soit :"
  • — au moins 2 semaines pour les sources primaires (dessins et estampes, photographies, documents d’archives, etc.)
  • — au moins 48 heures pour les sources secondaires (livres, périodiques, dossiers documentaires, etc.)
...