Querido Amancio, organized on the occasion of our new Amancio Williams fonds, featured a public reading of personal letters during which participants—Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Vekstein, and Claudio Williams—commented on the legacy of Amancio Williams. We will be publishing all of their letters in the coming weeks.

Ana Rascovsky shared the following:


Dear Amancio,

I’m sorry that your archive is leaving the country; it’s something you never wanted to happen—at least, that’s what you said in your silver book. But there was nothing for it here. In Canada, it will be very well cared for. In that we have every faith.

I look after an architecture archive, that of my grandfather, Alfredo Joselevich. My mother, Irene, gave it to me this week to revise, as we’re also going to make a book of his work. Of course, Alfredo was a contemporary of yours, and one of his works is emblematic of the Argentine Modern Movement, like your Bridge House.

I wonder what the professional relation between the two of you was like…. You each must have carried a well-formed opinion of the other. You were on the same side of the architecture debate, broadly speaking, opposing the conservatives and the nationalists. But then, in architect’s circles, what did you really think of each other? Did you compete? Or did the fact that you had no built work yet place you on a different level? Your archive, now so coveted, shows how the value of a body of work changes over time.

The archive that remains of Alfredo’s work is minimal. There are two folders with plans of three or four works. Little evidence remains of the projects. I don’t know where it all ended up; it’s one of life’s mysteries…. My mother, also an architect, might have kept them more carefully, but she also had other, weightier architecture legacies to look after.

Looking at the scant materials that remain, I can form an idea of the work. If you scratch the surface, you find “rough details.” People consider Alfredo a great modern architect, but they should also take a good look at his plans for lighting fixtures and French-style marble work. That’s where things get interesting. No one is one-directional—reality is much more complex than history would have us believe, and this complexity enriches people.

I imagine that your archive is full of millions of references and sensibilities that go unappreciated compared to your more popular works. We always end up listening to your greatest hits when there are millions of songs hidden beneath that emerge only when we fully hear your work to the end. And very few people gain this understanding.

My grandfather’s work is widely built and scattered all over the city. People live in it, look at it, appreciate it, and use it. Some works stand out as much as your umbrellas in what is now Vicente Lopez, but part of his work is unknown. So much so that it is quite common for people living in his works to be unaware that they share the architect who designed the great Comega Building.

Conversely, very few of your works are built. But your work is meticulously documented, developed, and explained in plans: it is a body of work on paper. Now it is your archive, and it was just as meticulously kept as it was cared for by your family. Some people use the archive, to study the work at its source. But any more people study it through books, and, most of all, your work lives actively in the minds of thousands of architects and students.

Like in the myths about great heroes, your work is glorified by an invisible halo. Theoretical work has that advantage: it will never disappoint because we do not come up against its reality. So, for most people, the physical archive could just as well be in a basement in Buenos Aires as in a sophisticated library in another country, because what is important remains in the mind of the beholder—and that the documents be well preserved so that academics can continue to refer to it.

Many years ago, to enter the faculty, I did a project about my grandfather’s work. To do so, I visited several of his buildings that no one knew. I wanted to become acquainted with the bulk of his work. In one case, a woman welcomed me—in flip-flops—and showed me her apartment since 1955. She told me that she had not needed to make practically any changes. The woman had lived there her entire life and she thanked me for my grandfather, for his having designed her home so well that she had never wanted to move. I was deeply moved.

I had felt well-insured to come up against this reality. Alfredo’s architecture is strong, well built, and very elegant.

I think that the potency that the two of you created—beyond the milestones that populate the architectural iconoclasm of Buenos Aires—has to do with massiveness. With ordinary people living in noble buildings, and with millions of students drawing on the inspiring potency of raw, unbuilt ideas.

Bon voyage!

Ana
Buenos Aires, 11 March 2020

1
1

Sign up to get news from us

Email address
First name
Last name
By signing up you agree to receive our newsletter and communications about CCA activities. You can unsubscribe at any time. For more information, consult our privacy policy or contact us.

Thank you for signing up. You'll begin to receive emails from us shortly.

We’re not able to update your preferences at the moment. Please try again later.

You’ve already subscribed with this email address. If you’d like to subscribe with another, please try again.

This email was permanently deleted from our database. If you’d like to resubscribe with this email, please contact us

Please complete the form below to buy:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Price [Price of book]

First name
Last name
Address (line 1)
Address (line 2) (optional)
Postal code
City
Country
Province/state
Email address
Phone (day) (optional)
Notes

Thank you for placing an order. We will contact you shortly.

We’re not able to process your request at the moment. Please try again later.

Folder ()

Your folder is empty.

Email:
Subject:
Notes:
Please complete this form to make a request for consultation. A copy of this list will also be forwarded to you.

Your contact information
First name:
Last name:
Email:
Phone number:
Notes (optional):
We will contact you to set up an appointment. Please keep in mind that your consultation date will be based on the type of material you wish to study. To prepare your visit, we'll need:
  • — At least 2 weeks for primary sources (prints and drawings, photographs, archival documents, etc.)
  • — At least 48 hours for secondary sources (books, periodicals, vertical files, etc.)
...

Querido Amancio, organisée à l’occasion de notre nouveau fonds Amancio Williams, a donné lieu à une lecture publique de lettres personnelles, au cours de laquelle les participants - Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Vekstein et Claudio Williams - ont commenté l’héritage d’Amancio Williams. Nous publierons toutes leurs lettres dans les prochaines semaines.

Ana Rascovsky a fait part de ce qui suit :


Cher Amancio,

Je regrette que tes archives quittent le pays, ce que tu n’as jamais souhaité si on se fie à ton livre argenté. Mais, c’est la seule option qui vaille. Elles feront au Canada l’objet de soins appropriés. Nous avons l’esprit tranquille.

Je m’occupe également d’un fonds d’archives d’architecture, celui de mon grand-père Alfredo Joselevich. Ma mère, Irene, me l’a donné cette semaine pour que je le révise, puisque nous publierons un livre sur son œuvre. Comme tu le sais, Alfredo fut un de tes contemporains et tout comme ta Casa del Puente (Maison du pont), une de ses œuvres est paradigmatique du mouvement moderne argentin.

Je me demande quelle relation professionnelle vous avez entretenue tous les deux… Vous aviez bien sûr une opinion claire l’un de l’autre. Vous étiez globalement dans le même camp de la discussion sur l’architecture, c’est-à-dire en opposition aux conservateurs et aux nationalistes, mais après, dans la société, que disiez-vous à voix basse ? Vous considériez-vous comme des concurrents ? Ou le fait de ne pas avoir construit te plaçait-il à un autre niveau? Tes archives très convoitées témoignent du changement de valeur que peut connaître une œuvre au fil du temps.

Les archives laissées par Alfredo sont minimes. Elles comptent deux chemises avec les plans de trois ou quatre œuvres. Il ne reste que peu de traces des projets. J’ignore où elles ont abouti, telles sont les vicissitudes de la vie. Bien que ma mère architecte eût pu s’appliquer davantage dans la conservation, elle s’est concentrée sur d’autres héritages architecturaux plus fastidieux à gérer.

Le peu de matériel qui subsiste me donne une idée du contexte. En grattant la surface, j’ai trouvé les « détails scabreux » de l’œuvre. Si on croyait qu’Alfredo était un grand moderne, il suffit de regarder plus attentivement ses plans d’éclairage et ses marbres à la française pour en douter. C’est là que les choses deviennent intéressantes. Personne n’est unidirectionnel, la réalité est bien plus complexe que ce que racontent les histoires, et cette complexité enrichit les personnes.

J’imagine que tes archives renferment des millions de clins d’œil et de nuances qu’on ne peut apprécier dans tes œuvres plus populaires. Nous écoutons toujours tes grands succès, alors qu’en réalité, il y a des millions de thèmes cachés qui surgissent quand on écoute ton œuvre jusqu’à la fin. Et rares sont ceux qui atteignent une telle compréhension.

Le travail de mon grand-père se trouve construit et dispersé aux quatre coins de la ville. Les gens l’utilisent, le regardent, l’apprécient, le consomment. Certaines œuvres se détachent – tels tes parapluies – maintenant à Vicente Lopez – mais une partie de son travail demeure inconnu. Si bien qu’il arrive fréquemment que des personnes qui vivent dans ses œuvres ne sachent pas que l’architecte de leur logement a également signé le grand édifice Comega.

À l’opposé, très peu de tes œuvres ont été construites. Mais ton travail est méticuleusement documenté, détaillé et expliqué dans des plans : c’est une œuvre papier. Au tour maintenant de tes archives; elles sont aussi méticuleusement conservées et entretenues par ta famille. Certains les utilisent et les étudient à partir de la source. Mais la majorité des gens les étudient dans des livres et, surtout, elles ont une vie active dans l’esprit de milliers d’architectes et d’étudiants.

Tels les mythes des grands héros, ton œuvre est glorifiée par un halo imaginaire. Le travail théorique a cet avantage : il ne déçoit jamais, parce qu’il ne se heurte pas à la réalité. Ainsi, pour la majorité des gens, les archives réelles peuvent se trouver dans un sous-sol de Buenos Aires ou dans une bibliothèque élégante d’un pays quelconque; ce qui compte, c’est que dans l’esprit du spectateur, les documents soient bien préservés pour que les universitaires puissent s’y fier.

Il y a plusieurs années, pour obtenir mon diplôme de la faculté, j’ai fait un travail sur l’œuvre de mon grand-père. J’ai visité plusieurs des édifices que personne ne connaît. Je voulais aller à l’essentiel de son œuvre. Dans l’un d’entre eux, une dame m’a accueillie – en tongs – et m’a montré son appartement de 1955. Elle m’a raconté qu’il n’a presque pas nécessité de réparations. La dame, qui avait vécu là toute sa vie, s’est montrée très reconnaissante envers mon grand-père. Elle appréciait grandement la conception de son logement, à un point tel qu’elle n’a jamais voulu déménager. J’en fus émue.

Dans ce cas-ci, le heurt avec la réalité passe le test. L’architecture d’Alfredo est résistante, bien construite et dotée d’une grande élégance.

Je crois que la puissance que vous avez tous deux créée – bien au-delà de vos événements marquants qui arment l’iconoclasme architectural de Buenos Aires – tient de la massivité. Tant pour les gens ordinaires qui vivent dans des édifices nobles, que pour les millions d’étudiants qui se nourrissent de la puissance inspiratrice des idées brutes sans construire.

Bon voyage!

Ana Buenos Aires, 11 mars 2020

1
1

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir de nos nouvelles

Courriel
Prénom
Nom
En vous abonnant, vous acceptez de recevoir notre infolettre et communications au sujet des activités du CCA. Vous pouvez vous désabonner en tout temps. Pour plus d’information, consultez notre politique de confidentialité ou contactez-nous.

Merci. Vous êtes maintenant abonné. Vous recevrez bientôt nos courriels.

Pour le moment, notre système n’est pas capable de mettre à jour vos préférences. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Vous êtes déjà inscrit avec cette adresse électronique. Si vous souhaitez vous inscrire avec une autre adresse, merci de réessayer.

Cete adresse courriel a été définitivement supprimée de notre base de données. Si vous souhaitez vous réabonner avec cette adresse courriel, veuillez contactez-nous

Veuillez, s'il vous plaît, remplir le formulaire ci-dessous pour acheter:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Prix [Price of book]

Prénom
Nom de famille
Adresse (ligne 1)
Adresse (ligne 2) (optionnel)
Code postal
Ville
Pays
Province / État
Courriel
Téléphone (jour) (optionnel)
Notes

Merci d'avoir passé une commande. Nous vous contacterons sous peu.

Nous ne sommes pas en mesure de traiter votre demande pour le moment. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Classeur ()

Votre classeur est vide.

Adresse électronique:
Sujet:
Notes:
Veuillez remplir ce formulaire pour faire une demande de consultation. Une copie de cette liste vous sera également transmise.

Vos informations
Prénom:
Nom de famille:
Adresse électronique:
Numéro de téléphone:
Notes (optionnel):
Nous vous contacterons pour convenir d’un rendez-vous. Veuillez noter que des délais pour les rendez-vous sont à prévoir selon le type de matériel que vous souhaitez consulter, soit :"
  • — au moins 2 semaines pour les sources primaires (dessins et estampes, photographies, documents d’archives, etc.)
  • — au moins 48 heures pour les sources secondaires (livres, périodiques, dossiers documentaires, etc.)
...