Querido Amancio, organized on the occasion of our new Amancio Williams fonds, featured a public reading of personal letters during which participants—Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Vekstein, and Claudio Williams—commented on the legacy of Amancio Williams. We will be publishing all of their letters in the coming weeks.

Florencia Alvarez shared the following:


Dear Amancio,

Yesterday, I spent the whole day leafing through your book, re-reading articles and book excerpts until I finally concluded that I am more interested in thinking about my relationship with your archive than I am in thinking about my relationship with your work. I’m sorry I never consulted it, considering I have worked with numerous architectural archives in recent years for different research and exhibition projects. Each archive has its complexities, and its journey in the hands of family members, individuals, and institutions is intricate. Your archive will have as its final destination the Canadian Centre for Architecture in Montréal.

I spent a long time re-reading articles about the controversy unleashed in Mexico a few years ago in relation to the Luis Barragán archive. It’s a long story, but in short: Jill Magid, an artist, had an engagement ring made from Barragán’s compressed ashes, proposing a symbolic form of exchange with Federica Zanco, director and owner of Barragán’s professional archive, kept in Basel since 1995. Below, I copy a small fragment of the text that introduces Jill Magid’s exhibition, “A letter always arrives at its destination”. The Barragán Archives, at MUAC (Museo Universitario Arte Contemporáneo), Mexico, 2017:

“A letter always arrives at its destination”. The Barragán Archives brings together the divergent strands of Barragán’s personal and professional archives. By exploring the official and private Barragán, the specific interests of the multiple individuals, government bodies, and corporate institutions that have become custodians of the archives, Magid encompasses the complex intersections between the psychological and the judicial, identity and national repatriation, international property rights and copyright, authorship and ownership, and the human body and the body of work. With this project, the MUAC opens up a political and ethical debate on the current and future conditions of the transfer of cultural heritage from a nation-state model to one of corporate institutions.

Let me clarify that it is not my intention to compare the Canadian Centre for Architecture, which I have been lucky enough to visit to consult archival material, with a private institution created ad-hoc for the professional archive of Barragán that restricts access to it while anticipating a catalogue that keeps not coming out. However, I think it is important to highlight the fragile situation in which Latin American architectural archives find themselves.

In Argentina, there currently exist various public and private institutions whose mission is the preservation, research, and dissemination of architectural archives, although the monetary and spatial resources available to them are scarce. However, there is no systematic programme for the acquisition of architectural collections by these institutions, and valuable archives that are part of our cultural heritage end up being sent to foreign private institutions with the expertise and resources needed for their preservation and cataloguing. These archives not only become unavailable to local researchers—few will be able to travel to consult your archive in Montréal—but their access and interpretation become controlled by foreign institutions that have their own agendas with regard to the research and dissemination of documentary heritage.

I started a list of where the materials of some of your contemporaries—and some, not so contemporary—are located. This doesn’t mean that you liked all or any of them. I’m just quickly thinking of Argentinean architects whose work has heritage value. The Jorge Ferrari-Hardoy Archive will be close by: since 2004, it is located at the Frances Loeb Library of the Harvard GSD in Cambridge, Massachusetts. The archives of Antonio Vilar and Jorge Sabaté are part of the documentary collections of the Institute of American Art at the Faculty of Architecture of the University of Buenos Aires. The Bonet i Castellana fonds are in the Historical Archives of the Architects’ Association of Catalonia (COAC). The archives of Alejandro Bustillo and Francisco Bullrich are being catalogued at the Universidad Di Tella library, after the tireless efforts by Martha Levisman—who even submitted a proposal to our Senate and had to temporarily keep the archives in her own house to avoid their deterioration. Wladimiro Acosta’s archive has recently been donated to the IDA Foundation (Investigación en Diseño Argentino), which is carrying out an extraordinary task but does not yet have a definitive venue. This list could go on, but I don’t want to bore you. Hopefully, in the future we will have stronger institutions that will allow us to preserve and make the archives of Argentinean architecture accessible to researchers in Argentina.

Have a good trip,

Florencia
Buenos Aires, 11 March 2020

1
1

Sign up to get news from us

Email address
First name
Last name
By signing up you agree to receive our newsletter and communications about CCA activities. You can unsubscribe at any time. For more information, consult our privacy policy or contact us.

Thank you for signing up. You'll begin to receive emails from us shortly.

We’re not able to update your preferences at the moment. Please try again later.

You’ve already subscribed with this email address. If you’d like to subscribe with another, please try again.

This email was permanently deleted from our database. If you’d like to resubscribe with this email, please contact us

Please complete the form below to buy:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Price [Price of book]

First name
Last name
Address (line 1)
Address (line 2) (optional)
Postal code
City
Country
Province/state
Email address
Phone (day) (optional)
Notes

Thank you for placing an order. We will contact you shortly.

We’re not able to process your request at the moment. Please try again later.

Folder ()

Your folder is empty.

Email:
Subject:
Notes:
Please complete this form to make a request for consultation. A copy of this list will also be forwarded to you.

Your contact information
First name:
Last name:
Email:
Phone number:
Notes (optional):
We will contact you to set up an appointment. Please keep in mind that your consultation date will be based on the type of material you wish to study. To prepare your visit, we'll need:
  • — At least 2 weeks for primary sources (prints and drawings, photographs, archival documents, etc.)
  • — At least 48 hours for secondary sources (books, periodicals, vertical files, etc.)
...

Querido Amancio, organisée à l’occasion de notre nouveau fonds Amancio Williams, a donné lieu à une lecture publique de lettres personnelles, au cours de laquelle les participants - Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Vekstein et Claudio Williams - ont commenté l’héritage d’Amancio Williams. Nous publierons toutes leurs lettres dans les prochaines semaines.

Florencia Alvarez a fait part de ce qui suit :


Cher Amancio,

Hier, j’ai passé toute la journée à feuilleter votre livre, à relire des articles et des extraits d’anciens livres jusqu’à ce que je conclue finalement ceci : plus que de penser à ma relation avec votre travail, je suis intéressée à penser à ma relation avec vos archives. Je suis désolée de ne les avoir jamais consultées, surtout si l’on considère que j’ai travaillé avec de nombreuses archives d’architecture ces dernières années pour différents projets de recherche et d’exposition. Chaque archive a ses complexités, et leur parcours, qui est entre les mains des membres de la famille, des individus et des institutions, est souvent complexe. Vos archives auront pour destination finale le Centre Canadien d’Architecture à Montréal.

J’ai passé beaucoup de temps à relire des articles sur la controverse déclenchée au Mexique il y a quelques années à propos des archives de Luis Barragán. C’est une longue histoire, mais en bref : Jill Magid, une artiste, a fait fabriquer une bague de fiançailles à partir des cendres compressées de Barragán, proposant une forme symbolique d’échange avec Federica Zanco, directrice et propriétaire des archives professionnelles de Barragán, conservées à Bâle depuis 1995. Je recopie ci-dessous un petit fragment du texte qui présente l’exposition de Jill Magid “Une lettre arrive toujours à destination”. Les archives Barragán au MUAC (Museo Universitario Arte Contemporáneo), Mexique, 2017 :

“Une lettre arrive toujours à destination”. Les archives Barragán rassemblent les différents volets des archives personnelles et professionnelles de Barragán. En explorant le Barragán officiel et privé, et les intérêts spécifiques des multiples individus, organismes gouvernementaux et institutions corporatives devenus les gardiens historiques des archives, Magid englobe directement les intersections complexes entre le psychologique et le judiciaire, l’identité et le rapatriement national, les droits internationaux de propriété et les droits d’auteur, la paternité, le corps humain et le corps de l’œuvre. Avec ce projet, le MUAC ouvre un débat politique et éthique sur les conditions actuelles et futures du transfert du patrimoine culturel d’un modèle d’État-nation à une institution corporative.

Permettez-moi de préciser que je n’ai pas l’intention de comparer le Centre Canadien d’Architecture, que j’ai eu la chance de visiter pour consulter des documents d’archives, avec une institution privée créée ad hoc, quand je parle des archives professionnelles de Barragán, dont l’accès est restreint tant que le catalogue continue de ne pas paraître. Cependant, je pense qu’il est important de souligner la situation fragile dans laquelle se trouvent les archives latino-américaines d’architecture.

En Argentine, il existe actuellement diverses institutions publiques et privées dont la mission est la préservation, la recherche et la diffusion des archives architecturales, bien que les ressources monétaires et spatiales dont elles disposent soient rares. Cependant, il n’existe pas de programme systématique d’acquisition de collections architecturales par les institutions publiques, et les archives de valeur qui font partie de notre patrimoine culturel finissent par être envoyées à des institutions privées étrangères qui possèdent l’expertise et les ressources nécessaires à leur préservation et à leur catalogage. Non seulement ces archives deviennent inaccessibles aux chercheurs locaux - peu pourront se déplacer pour consulter vos archives à Montréal - mais leur accès et leur interprétation sont contrôlés par des institutions étrangères qui ont leurs propres programmes de recherche et de diffusion du patrimoine documentaire.

J’ai commencé à dresser une liste des dossiers de certains de vos contemporains - et d’autres moins contemporains. Cela ne veut pas dire que vous les aimiez tous ou aucun d’entre eux. Je pense rapidement aux architectes argentins dont le travail a une valeur patrimoniale. Les archives Ferrari-Hardoy seront proches des vôtres : depuis 2004, elles se trouvent à la bibliothèque Frances Loeb de la GSD de Harvard à Cambridge, Massachusetts. Les archives d’Antonio Vilar et de Jorge Sabaté font partie des collections documentaires de l’Instituto de Arte americano de la Facultad de arquitectura de la Universidad de Buenos Aires. Le fonds Bonet Castellana se trouve dans les archives historiques du Collegi d’Arquitectes de Catalunya (COAC). Les archives d’Alejandro Bustillo et de Francisco Bullrich sont en cours de catalogage dans la bibliothèque de l’Universidad Di Tella, après les efforts inlassables de Martha Levisman - qui a même soumis une proposition à notre Sénat et a dû conserver temporairement les archives dans sa propre maison pour éviter leur détérioration. Les archives de Wladimiro Acosta ont récemment été données à la Fondation IDA (Investigación en Diseño Argentino), qui accomplit une tâche extraordinaire mais ne dispose pas encore d’un lieu définitif. Cette liste pourrait s’allonger, mais je ne veux pas vous ennuyer. Il faut espérer qu’à l’avenir, nous aurons des institutions plus fortes qui nous permettront de préserver et de rendre les archives de l’architecture argentine accessibles aux chercheurs en Argentine.

Je vous souhaite un bon voyage,

Florencia
Buenos Aires, 11 mars 2020

1
1

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir de nos nouvelles

Courriel
Prénom
Nom
En vous abonnant, vous acceptez de recevoir notre infolettre et communications au sujet des activités du CCA. Vous pouvez vous désabonner en tout temps. Pour plus d’information, consultez notre politique de confidentialité ou contactez-nous.

Merci. Vous êtes maintenant abonné. Vous recevrez bientôt nos courriels.

Pour le moment, notre système n’est pas capable de mettre à jour vos préférences. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Vous êtes déjà inscrit avec cette adresse électronique. Si vous souhaitez vous inscrire avec une autre adresse, merci de réessayer.

Cete adresse courriel a été définitivement supprimée de notre base de données. Si vous souhaitez vous réabonner avec cette adresse courriel, veuillez contactez-nous

Veuillez, s'il vous plaît, remplir le formulaire ci-dessous pour acheter:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Prix [Price of book]

Prénom
Nom de famille
Adresse (ligne 1)
Adresse (ligne 2) (optionnel)
Code postal
Ville
Pays
Province / État
Courriel
Téléphone (jour) (optionnel)
Notes

Merci d'avoir passé une commande. Nous vous contacterons sous peu.

Nous ne sommes pas en mesure de traiter votre demande pour le moment. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Classeur ()

Votre classeur est vide.

Adresse électronique:
Sujet:
Notes:
Veuillez remplir ce formulaire pour faire une demande de consultation. Une copie de cette liste vous sera également transmise.

Vos informations
Prénom:
Nom de famille:
Adresse électronique:
Numéro de téléphone:
Notes (optionnel):
Nous vous contacterons pour convenir d’un rendez-vous. Veuillez noter que des délais pour les rendez-vous sont à prévoir selon le type de matériel que vous souhaitez consulter, soit :"
  • — au moins 2 semaines pour les sources primaires (dessins et estampes, photographies, documents d’archives, etc.)
  • — au moins 48 heures pour les sources secondaires (livres, périodiques, dossiers documentaires, etc.)
...