Querido Amancio, organized on the occasion of our new Amancio Williams fonds, featured a public reading of personal letters during which participants—Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Vekstein, and Claudio Williams—commented on the legacy of Amancio Williams. We will be publishing all of their letters in the coming weeks.

Fernando Diez shared the following:


I can only address this letter to the ghost of Amancio Williams. An uncertain image that I pieced together from the stories of those who did know him.

“This is the end,” Amancio had said to Alfonso Corona Martínez, in the old Concentra bookshop on Calle Viamonte, while looking at a recently arrived book with the first pictures of Ronchamp Chapel by an obviously unexpected Le Corbusier. It was also Corona Martínez, who had worked in Williams’s studio in his youth, who told me, by way of revelation, that “everything in Amancio’s work was about drawing and redrawing.”

I learned a little more through the diligent, undaunted work of Claudio Vekstein when he reconstructed two shell vaults on the coast of Vicente López, seeking a structural compromise between age-old audacity and contemporary certainty. An expression, too, of the intrinsic difficulty for built work of achieving the perfection of the drawing, of an ideal which, by its very nature, necessarily manifests itself in tension with the possible.

If the ideal is, somehow, the impossible, we might think that Amancio Williams could have achieved it. His unbuilt works express the dream of an order, of an organisation capable of overcoming the disorder of a chaotic universe. But what gives meaning to an ideal is not just its immateriality or its virtue; it is, above all, its humanity: the very attempt to conjure time and space in the illusion of the universal and the imperishable. In this sense, I think that Williams proved to be too idealistic, too human.

This excess, nonetheless, bore fruit: the immaterial drawn work that brings us together here, at this moment—now, ironically, also a concrete work, the material conservation of which calls for expert, specialized care.

The image of Amancio Williams became less vague to me thanks to my joint work with Claudio Williams editing the book Amancio Williams, published by Summa+, a document in a handy format containing the work of Amancio Williams, the ultimate expression of which is this Archive. A book that is faithful, in form and in content, to the wishes and the spirit of Amancio.

I encountered the Williamses once again in the final section of the exhibition Latin America in Construction at the MOMA in New York, dedicated, precisely, to utopias and ideal cities, where considerable space was set aside for Amancio’s drawings.

Through this and other experiences, I was able to verify the persistent, loyal commitment of Claudio Williams and his family not just to conserving the legacy of his father, but also promoting it, making it known and available to researchers and scholars. And, just as importantly, to keeping it together, never yielding to the temptation to separate out the most attractive pieces that museums were eager to receive.

I encountered Amancio Williams again when I agreed to review the doctoral thesis that Luis Müller defended at the National University of Rosario, where I had the opportunity to become familiar with his correspondence, his personal desires and tribulations, and the frustration of the real that tends to prevail over the ideal.

In Summa+ 171, we published a chapter of Müller’s thesis, illustrated with hitherto unpublished documents and little-known technical plans, all generously loaned by the Williams Archive, and the images that illustrate the extensive analytical article by Roberto Fernández published in Summa+ 176. Now begins a new relationship with the Williams Archive, which we trust will be just as productive.

Personally, it saddens me that it has not been possible to place the Archive in the care of an Argentinian institution that could ensure its appropriate conservation. I am reassured, however, that despite leaving the country, it is in the safekeeping of an institution like the Canadian Centre for Architecture, whose reliability and prestige deserve the greatest confidence.

For us, Argentinians, this prompts necessary reflection and discussion about the care of our documental and artistic heritage. The decolonization of the history of architecture is moving in different directions: what we inevitably feel as a loss at the same time represents the possibility of incorporating the Amancio Williams Archive into the academic and cultural circuit of the Anglophone northern hemisphere. It is, then, also a way of starting to overcome a markedly Eurocentric history of architecture, placing Amancio Williams in the realm of the great figures of twentieth-century architecture, prescient in so many ways.

In any case, I think that the ghost of Amancio Williams, in particular, will agree, more than ever, with the old adage that no one is a prophet in their own land, and that now, his Archive will be better placed to promote the knowledge and appreciation of his work.

So, ghost of Amancio Williams, I finally think that we are now friends.

Bon voyage!

Fernando Diez
Buenos Aires, 11 March 2020

1
1

Sign up to get news from us

Email address
First name
Last name
By signing up you agree to receive our newsletter and communications about CCA activities. You can unsubscribe at any time. For more information, consult our privacy policy or contact us.

Thank you for signing up. You'll begin to receive emails from us shortly.

We’re not able to update your preferences at the moment. Please try again later.

You’ve already subscribed with this email address. If you’d like to subscribe with another, please try again.

This email was permanently deleted from our database. If you’d like to resubscribe with this email, please contact us

Please complete the form below to buy:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Price [Price of book]

First name
Last name
Address (line 1)
Address (line 2) (optional)
Postal code
City
Country
Province/state
Email address
Phone (day) (optional)
Notes

Thank you for placing an order. We will contact you shortly.

We’re not able to process your request at the moment. Please try again later.

Folder ()

Your folder is empty.

Email:
Subject:
Notes:
Please complete this form to make a request for consultation. A copy of this list will also be forwarded to you.

Your contact information
First name:
Last name:
Email:
Phone number:
Notes (optional):
We will contact you to set up an appointment. Please keep in mind that your consultation date will be based on the type of material you wish to study. To prepare your visit, we'll need:
  • — At least 2 weeks for primary sources (prints and drawings, photographs, archival documents, etc.)
  • — At least 48 hours for secondary sources (books, periodicals, vertical files, etc.)
...

Querido Amancio, organisée à l’occasion de notre nouveau fonds Amancio Williams, a donné lieu à une lecture publique de lettres personnelles, au cours de laquelle les participants - Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Vekstein et Claudio Williams - ont commenté l’héritage d’Amancio Williams. Nous publierons toutes leurs lettres dans les prochaines semaines.

Fernando Diez a fait part de ce qui suit :


Je ne peux adresser cette lettre qu’à l’esprit d’Amancio Williams, une image incertaine que j’ai construite petit à petit, grâce aux références de ceux qui l’ont connu.

« C’est le comble! », lance Amancio à Alfonso Corona Martínez dans la vieille librairie Concentra de la rue Viamonte, en observant le livre nouvellement arrivé qui comportait les premières images de la chapelle Notre-Dame du Haut, par laquelle le Corbusier avait déjoué toutes les attentes. Corona Martínez, qui avait travaillé dans sa jeunesse à l’étude de Williams, m’a d’ailleurs déjà dit en mode révélation : « Pour Amancio, il s’est toujours agi de dessiner et de redessiner ».

J’en ai appris un peu plus grâce au travail ardu et remarqué de Claudio Vekstein, lorsqu’il a reconstruit deux « voûtes pelure » (bóvedas-cáscara) sur la côte de Vicente López, osant ainsi un compromis structurel entre l’audace du passé et la certitude contemporaine. C’est également l’expression de la difficulté intrinsèque qu’a la construction à atteindre la perfection du dessin, et d’un idéal qui, de par sa nature propre, doit constamment se manifester en tension avec le possible.

Si l’idéal signifie d’une quelconque manière l’impossible, on peut supposer qu’Amancio Williams l’a atteint. Ses œuvres non-construites expriment le rêve d’un ordre, d’une organisation capable de vaincre le désordre d’un univers chaotique. Mais ce qui donne un sens à un idéal c’est surtout, outre son immatérialité et sa vertu, son humanité : la volonté de conjurer le temps et l’espace dans l’illusion de l’universel et de l’impérissable. En ce sens, je crois que Williams a montré qu’il était trop idéaliste et trop humain.

Cet excès a néanmoins porté ses fruits. Ironiquement, l’œuvre immatérielle, dessinée, qui nous réunit présentement, est aussi une œuvre concrète dont la conservation matérielle exige des soins méticuleux.

Mon image d’Amancio Williams a pris forme grâce à ma collaboration avec Claudio Williams, lorsque nous avons édité le livre Amancio Williams avec l’approbation de Summa+ : un document qui présente dans un format pratique l’œuvre d’Amancio Williams, dont la meilleure expression demeure le fonds d’archives. Un livre fidèle aux souhaits et à l’esprit d’Amancio, quand on considère sa forme et son contenu.

J’ai rencontré à nouveau les Williams lors de Latin America in Construction au MoMA à New York, une exposition consacrée, justement, aux utopies et aux villes idéales, où on a accordé une grande importance aux dessins d’Amancio.

C’est à travers ces expériences, parmi d’autres, que j’ai pu constater l’engagement persistant et loyal de Claudio Williams et de sa famille, non seulement envers la conservation du legs de son père, mais aussi sa mise en valeur, afin de le faire connaître et de le mettre à la disposition des chercheurs et des étudiants. Ce qu’il convient également de souligner, c’est qu’il a toujours préservé l’unité de l’œuvre, en ne cédant jamais à la tentation d’en détacher les pièces les plus attrayantes lorgnées par les musées.

J’ai rencontré à nouveau Amancio Williams à la présentation de la thèse de doctorat que Luis Müller a défendue à la Universidad Nacional de Rosario, où j’ai eu l’occasion de découvrir sa correspondance, l’intimité de ses désirs et tribulations, ainsi que les frustrations à voir le réel s’imposer au détriment de l’idéal.

Nous avons publié dans Summa+ 171 un chapitre de la thèse de Müller, illustrée de documents inédits et de plans techniques rares, tous généreusement cédés par le fonds d’archives Williams, tout comme les images illustrant l’article analytique approfondi que vient de publier Summa+ 176 sous la plume de Roberto Fernández. Aujourd’hui s’amorce une nouvelle relation avec le fonds d’archives Williams, dont nous espérons qu’elle sera tout aussi fructueuse.

Personnellement, je m’attriste du fait que les archives n’aient pu être accueillies par une institution argentine qui puisse garantir leur conservation adéquate. Ce qui me réconforte, toutefois, c’est que, bien qu’à l’extérieur du pays, une institution comme le Centre Canadien d’Architecture, dont la rigueur et le prestige m’inspirent la plus grande confiance, puisse les accueillir.

Pour nous, Argentins, s’amorcent une réflexion et une discussion nécessaires sur l’attention portée à notre patrimoine documentaire et artistique. La décolonisation de l’histoire de l’architecture se déplace dans différentes directions, de sorte que ce qui d’un côté paraîtra inévitablement comme une défaite, ouvrira de l’autre la possibilité de l’incorporation du fonds d’archives Amancio Williams au circuit universitaire et culturel de l’hémisphère nord anglophone. Cela permet également d’entamer le dépassement d’une histoire de l’architecture résolument eurocentrique, donnant ainsi à Amancio Williams, une des grandes figures de l’architecture du XXe siècle, un aspect prémonitoire.

Quoi qu’il en soit – je crois que l’esprit d’Amancio Williams acquiescera plus que jamais – nul n’est prophète en son pays et son fonds d’archives se trouvera maintenant en de meilleures conditions pour favoriser la reconnaissance et la diffusion de son œuvre.

Ô esprit d’Amancio Williams, je crois que nous sommes devenus amis.

Bon voyage !

Fernando Diez
Buenos Aires, 11 mars 2020

1
1

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir de nos nouvelles

Courriel
Prénom
Nom
En vous abonnant, vous acceptez de recevoir notre infolettre et communications au sujet des activités du CCA. Vous pouvez vous désabonner en tout temps. Pour plus d’information, consultez notre politique de confidentialité ou contactez-nous.

Merci. Vous êtes maintenant abonné. Vous recevrez bientôt nos courriels.

Pour le moment, notre système n’est pas capable de mettre à jour vos préférences. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Vous êtes déjà inscrit avec cette adresse électronique. Si vous souhaitez vous inscrire avec une autre adresse, merci de réessayer.

Cete adresse courriel a été définitivement supprimée de notre base de données. Si vous souhaitez vous réabonner avec cette adresse courriel, veuillez contactez-nous

Veuillez, s'il vous plaît, remplir le formulaire ci-dessous pour acheter:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Prix [Price of book]

Prénom
Nom de famille
Adresse (ligne 1)
Adresse (ligne 2) (optionnel)
Code postal
Ville
Pays
Province / État
Courriel
Téléphone (jour) (optionnel)
Notes

Merci d'avoir passé une commande. Nous vous contacterons sous peu.

Nous ne sommes pas en mesure de traiter votre demande pour le moment. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Classeur ()

Votre classeur est vide.

Adresse électronique:
Sujet:
Notes:
Veuillez remplir ce formulaire pour faire une demande de consultation. Une copie de cette liste vous sera également transmise.

Vos informations
Prénom:
Nom de famille:
Adresse électronique:
Numéro de téléphone:
Notes (optionnel):
Nous vous contacterons pour convenir d’un rendez-vous. Veuillez noter que des délais pour les rendez-vous sont à prévoir selon le type de matériel que vous souhaitez consulter, soit :"
  • — au moins 2 semaines pour les sources primaires (dessins et estampes, photographies, documents d’archives, etc.)
  • — au moins 48 heures pour les sources secondaires (livres, périodiques, dossiers documentaires, etc.)
...