Querido Amancio, organized on the occasion of our new Amancio Williams fonds, featured a public reading of personal letters during which participants—Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Vekstein, and Claudio Williams—commented on the legacy of Amancio Williams. We will be publishing all of their letters in the coming weeks.

Ciro Najle shared the following:


Dear Amancio,

I humbly stand here, reading this letter to your memory and to its pure presence (continuous). And yet, this humbleness only wishes to empathize with your profound heroism, your strong will to universality, your sharpness and absoluteness, your paradoxically objective idealism, your deeply restrained and peaceful desire for extensiveness and expansiveness, your immanent and penetrating horizontality.

The great, enduring virtue of your thoughts, actions, and things, in other words, of your architectural persona, a virtue that in the present time is possibly more significant than it has ever been before, is to have, first, avoided, second, bypassed, third, surpassed, and, finally, recast the sadly dominant, burdensome quest for regional identity, which you sharply did by building up a model of irreducible, ubiquitous singularity.

The false continuum of belonging to place and of the transmissibility of tradition has been factually interrupted by your work, and any alleged harmonic relation between past and future has been carefully rendered artificial. If the tradition of this place is that traditions have been, through generations, thoroughly betrayed, ignored, or forgotten, you have made this modern cliché take on an absolute form.

Rationalists and universalists of all sorts could only wish for such extreme, blunt, and systematic oblivion, because it is the flesh and passion of its affirmative objectivity, its candid ingenuity—and not merely its serious reason—that constitute its force and make your projects, sayings, and buildings equally stand in front of our eyes as perpetually enlightening myths that outclass any monumental stature.

The unambiguous, non-problematic freedom of your objects embodies a fictitious form of sovereignty, in which the conscious earnestness of the absolute and its apparent infantility calmly obliterate anything around it, and withstands time by exerting a form of power (an entirely architectural form) that exceeds the sheer optimism of modernity and elegantly eludes any dependence on reactionary or critical positions.

The radical is, for you, not the one who abstracts things to reach deeper roots but the one who does it indifferently and without willing, as if by distraction, mercilessly acknowledging that the lack of roots is the very initial premise of being here and now while being everywhere and forever. The radical is the one who has the courage to plainly embrace the inborn hollowness of architecture, its existence without metaphysics, it’s being there, like the sea.

The ruthless lack of roots in your work paradoxically stimulates a singular form of radicality, a rootless radicality embedded in an unpretentious capability of detachment. Yours is a radicality by default, which can only be enacted by a truly radical, independent thinker and doer, impossible to put under pressure, because of your self-containment and because your blood pressure is higher than that of any context.

As for myself, my expertise—or rather, my wished-for expertise—has always aspired to be just like the one that your persona and your work, seem to naturally perspire. Culture remains in them chronically foreign, eagerly embraced, explicitly embedded, but delicately and obstinately expelled and surpassed. That is the foreign interiority of your work, its absoluteness, its force, its irreducibility, and its persuasive singularity.

You are the ultimate hero: the sober hero. And yours is the vanishing point of view of the inner outsider’s eye.

With all my gratitude, I pay you due respect,

Ciro Najle Buenos Aires, 11 March 2020

1
1

Sign up to get news from us

Email address
First name
Last name
By signing up you agree to receive our newsletter and communications about CCA activities. You can unsubscribe at any time. For more information, consult our privacy policy or contact us.

Thank you for signing up. You'll begin to receive emails from us shortly.

We’re not able to update your preferences at the moment. Please try again later.

You’ve already subscribed with this email address. If you’d like to subscribe with another, please try again.

This email was permanently deleted from our database. If you’d like to resubscribe with this email, please contact us

Please complete the form below to buy:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Price [Price of book]

First name
Last name
Address (line 1)
Address (line 2) (optional)
Postal code
City
Country
Province/state
Email address
Phone (day) (optional)
Notes

Thank you for placing an order. We will contact you shortly.

We’re not able to process your request at the moment. Please try again later.

Folder ()

Your folder is empty.

Email:
Subject:
Notes:
Please complete this form to make a request for consultation. A copy of this list will also be forwarded to you.

Your contact information
First name:
Last name:
Email:
Phone number:
Notes (optional):
We will contact you to set up an appointment. Please keep in mind that your consultation date will be based on the type of material you wish to study. To prepare your visit, we'll need:
  • — At least 2 weeks for primary sources (prints and drawings, photographs, archival documents, etc.)
  • — At least 48 hours for secondary sources (books, periodicals, vertical files, etc.)
...

Querido Amancio, organisée à l’occasion de notre nouveau fonds Amancio Williams, a donné lieu à une lecture publique de lettres personnelles, au cours de laquelle les participants - Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Vekstein et Claudio Williams - ont commenté l’héritage d’Amancio Williams. Nous publierons toutes leurs lettres dans les prochaines semaines.

Ciro Najle a fait part de ce qui suit :


Cher Amancio,

Je me tiens humblement ici, lisant cette lettre à votre mémoire et à son présent absolu (continu). Et pourtant, l’humilité exige que l’on associe à votre profond héroïsme, votre forte volonté d’universalité, votre finesse et votre absolutisme, votre idéalisme paradoxalement objectif, votre désir profondément retenu et pacifique d’extensivité et d’expansion, votre horizontalité immanente et acérée.

La grande et immuable force de vos pensées, actions et choses, autrement dit de toute votre figure d’architecte, une force encore plus considérable peut-être qu’elle ne l’a jamais été auparavant, est d’avoir (1) évité, (2) contourné, (3) dépassé et enfin (4) transformé la quête pesante et tristement dominante de l’identité régionale, ce que vous avez fait avec rigueur en construisant un modèle d’omniprésente et d’inflexible singularité.

Votre travail a, de fait, mis fin au continuum faux que sont l’appartenance au lieu et la transmissibilité de la tradition, et a rendu artificielle toute relation prétendument harmonieuse entre le passé et le futur. Et si, comme il est de coutume en ce lieu, les traditions ont été au fil des générations complètement trahies, ignorées ou oubliées, vous avez réussi à donner à ce cliché sa forme absolue.

Les rationalistes et les universalistes en tous genres ne pouvaient que souhaiter un tel oubli extrême, brutal et systématique, car celui-ci est la chair et la passion de son objectivité affirmative, son ingéniosité candide – et pas seulement sa raison sérieuse –: là est sa force, et ce qui fait que vos projets, expressions et bâtiments se dressent également devant nos yeux comme des mythes à jamais éclairants qui surpassent toute stature monumentale.

La liberté non ambiguë et non problématique de vos objets incarne une forme fictive de souveraineté, où le sérieux conscient de l’absolu, son apparente infantilité, efface sereinement tout ce qui l’entoure, et résiste au temps en exerçant une forme de pouvoir (une forme entièrement architecturale) qui dépasse le simple optimisme de la modernité et échappe élégamment à toute dépendance à l’égard de positions réactionnaires ou critiques.

Pour vous, est radical non pas celui qui procède à des abstractions pour atteindre des racines plus profondes, mais celui qui le fait avec indifférence et sans volonté, comme par distraction, en reconnaissant sans pitié que l’absence de racines est la prémisse initiale de l’existence, ici et maintenant, et, en même temps, partout et pour toujours. Radical est celui qui a le courage d’embrasser sans détour le creux inné de l’architecture, son existence sans métaphysique, son être là, comme la mer.

L’absence impitoyable de racines de votre travail stimule paradoxalement une forme singulière de radicalité, une radicalité sans racines ancrée dans une capacité de détachement modeste: la vôtre est une radicalité par défaut, qui ne peut être mise en œuvre que par un penseur et un faiseur vraiment radical et indépendant, impossible à mettre sous pression, car votre maîtrise de vous-même et votre tension artérielle sont supérieures à celles suscitées par tout autre contexte.

Quant à moi, mon expertise – ou plutôt, mon expertise souhaitée – a toujours aspiré à devenir à l’image de celle que votre figure et votre travail semblent exhaler naturellement. La culture y reste constamment étrangère, avidement embrassée, explicitement ancrée, mais délicatement et obstinément expulsée et excédée. C’est là l’intériorité étrangère de votre travail, son absoluité, sa force, son irréductibilité et sa singularité persuasive.

Vous êtes le héros ultime: le héros discret. Et vous avez fait vôtre le point de vue fuyant du tiers extérieur.

Avec toute ma gratitude, je vous présente mes respects.

Ciro Najle Buenos Aires, 11 mars 2020

1
1

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir de nos nouvelles

Courriel
Prénom
Nom
En vous abonnant, vous acceptez de recevoir notre infolettre et communications au sujet des activités du CCA. Vous pouvez vous désabonner en tout temps. Pour plus d’information, consultez notre politique de confidentialité ou contactez-nous.

Merci. Vous êtes maintenant abonné. Vous recevrez bientôt nos courriels.

Pour le moment, notre système n’est pas capable de mettre à jour vos préférences. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Vous êtes déjà inscrit avec cette adresse électronique. Si vous souhaitez vous inscrire avec une autre adresse, merci de réessayer.

Cete adresse courriel a été définitivement supprimée de notre base de données. Si vous souhaitez vous réabonner avec cette adresse courriel, veuillez contactez-nous

Veuillez, s'il vous plaît, remplir le formulaire ci-dessous pour acheter:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Prix [Price of book]

Prénom
Nom de famille
Adresse (ligne 1)
Adresse (ligne 2) (optionnel)
Code postal
Ville
Pays
Province / État
Courriel
Téléphone (jour) (optionnel)
Notes

Merci d'avoir passé une commande. Nous vous contacterons sous peu.

Nous ne sommes pas en mesure de traiter votre demande pour le moment. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Classeur ()

Votre classeur est vide.

Adresse électronique:
Sujet:
Notes:
Veuillez remplir ce formulaire pour faire une demande de consultation. Une copie de cette liste vous sera également transmise.

Vos informations
Prénom:
Nom de famille:
Adresse électronique:
Numéro de téléphone:
Notes (optionnel):
Nous vous contacterons pour convenir d’un rendez-vous. Veuillez noter que des délais pour les rendez-vous sont à prévoir selon le type de matériel que vous souhaitez consulter, soit :"
  • — au moins 2 semaines pour les sources primaires (dessins et estampes, photographies, documents d’archives, etc.)
  • — au moins 48 heures pour les sources secondaires (livres, périodiques, dossiers documentaires, etc.)
...