Querido Amancio, organized on the occasion of our new Amancio Williams fonds, featured a public reading of personal letters during which participants—Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Vekstein, and Claudio Williams—commented on the legacy of Amancio Williams. We will be publishing all of their letters in the coming weeks.

Cayetana Mercé shared the following:


Dear Delfina,

I guess you’ll be surprised to learn that one of the letters written for this tribute to Amancio Williams, your husband and partner when you were in practice, is addressed to you. I can also imagine that it makes you uncomfortable and that you would have preferred it not to happen. In that case, I apologise, and later in this letter I will explain the reasons for my “disobedience.”

The Williams Archive will be part of the collection of the Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA), a leading institution that promotes research, reflection, and criticism in the field of architecture. It has an outstanding collection of modern and postmodern archives, of which the Williams Archive will be part. I’m explaining this to you, Delfina, because you might not have been told. And because in this archive there are projects—the most interesting ones, in my opinion—that you co-authored.

I’ve seen the Williams Archive and the tremendous work that Claudio Williams, your son, did to catalogue every plan and drawing, to preserve and disseminate Amancio’s work. Admirable. Archives safeguard the preservation of collective memory. Without this memory, we know neither where we’ve come from nor where we are going—something we Argentinians often suffer from and perhaps one of the reasons this archive cannot be kept in our country. I don’t want to bore you, Delfina. What’s important is that I explain to you exactly why I’m writing this letter.

The Casa sobre el Arroyo in Mar del Plata is the most recognized work in the archive. And I think I’m not mistaken in saying that it’s one of the works that makes the archive so valuable. It is one of the few works by Amancio to be built and, despite its abandoned state, continues to be visited, photographed, and “instagrammed” by new generations (I’ll explain what this means at some other moment, Delfina). It transcends its modernity, and people make it their own.

Well, Delfina, that house is a project of yours. Together with your partner, Amancio, of course. Would it have been the same if you hadn’t worked with him on it? Impossible to know, and it doesn’t matter. Only the facts matter. We are talking about an archive, and in archives things are the way they are. You’ll have to accept it, even though you’ve often said you wanted no credit for the works by Williams in which you participated as a designer.

In 1942, a year after your marriage, you developed the first project with Amancio and Jorge Vivanco, an apartment building for the city of Buenos Aires called “Houses in Space.” According to Roberto Fernández, “these projects were known and praised by Le Corbusier—in his […] essay published in the journal L’Homme et l’Architecture in 1947.″

Your biography on Zaida Muxí’s blog, Un Día una Arquitecta, says: “In Alberto Sartoris’ publication from the same time, Encyclopédie de l’architecture nouvelle (Milan, 1948), different projects appear with shared authorship by ‘Amancio Williams et Delfina G. de Williams.’ Along with these joint works, the publication includes individual works by Amancio Williams and others shared with César Janello, Colette Boccara de Janello, and Jorge Butler. This recognition of co-authorship, which Williams himself probably supplied, disappears in most of the historiographical accounts about him.”

I imagine you know that in September 2018 the Commission of Historical Monuments, Places and Properties acknowledged the shared authorship of the Casa sobre el Arroyo in a presentation given by the architect Carolina Quiroga. The statement reads: “The authorship of the Casa sobre el Arroyo, according to thoroughly analysed documentation, corresponds not only to Amancio Williams but also to Delfina Gálvez. […] This occasions a review of the authorship of listed monuments or properties […] in order to prevent the repetition of these intentional omissions.”

Hence this letter, Delfina. We, contemporary women architects, are looking for peer references. We want to know what you did, what you thought, how you dealt with figures like Amancio, “the Argentinian hero of modern architecture,” who, in your life, was your fellow student, then your companion, partner, and father of your eight children.

I guess one strategy for you to make your own way was to leave “architecture” to him and to devote your talent and brilliance to other things, like your passion for writing, the presidency of the Association of Hispanic Women, which you held until your one-hundredth birthday, and the construction of a huge family with children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren.

Thank you, Delfina Gálvez, for representing women architects in the valuable archive that brings us together today. We know that your contribution will be recognised and valued, just as we recognise and value it, even though it might make you uncomfortable. We live at a time when the visibility of women in architectural history is vital to the reconstruction of our memory and imperative to the discipline as a whole.

Cayetana Mercé

Buenos Aires, 11 March 2020

1
1

Sign up to get news from us

Email address
First name
Last name
By signing up you agree to receive our newsletter and communications about CCA activities. You can unsubscribe at any time. For more information, consult our privacy policy or contact us.

Thank you for signing up. You'll begin to receive emails from us shortly.

We’re not able to update your preferences at the moment. Please try again later.

You’ve already subscribed with this email address. If you’d like to subscribe with another, please try again.

This email was permanently deleted from our database. If you’d like to resubscribe with this email, please contact us

Please complete the form below to buy:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Price [Price of book]

First name
Last name
Address (line 1)
Address (line 2) (optional)
Postal code
City
Country
Province/state
Email address
Phone (day) (optional)
Notes

Thank you for placing an order. We will contact you shortly.

We’re not able to process your request at the moment. Please try again later.

Folder ()

Your folder is empty.

Email:
Subject:
Notes:
Please complete this form to make a request for consultation. A copy of this list will also be forwarded to you.

Your contact information
First name:
Last name:
Email:
Phone number:
Notes (optional):
We will contact you to set up an appointment. Please keep in mind that your consultation date will be based on the type of material you wish to study. To prepare your visit, we'll need:
  • — At least 2 weeks for primary sources (prints and drawings, photographs, archival documents, etc.)
  • — At least 48 hours for secondary sources (books, periodicals, vertical files, etc.)
...

Querido Amancio, organisée à l’occasion de notre nouveau fonds Amancio Williams, a donné lieu à une lecture publique de lettres personnelles, au cours de laquelle les participants - Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Vekstein et Claudio Williams - ont commenté l’héritage d’Amancio Williams. Nous publierons toutes leurs lettres dans les prochaines semaines.

Cayetana Mercé a fait part de ce qui suit :


Chère Delfina,

Tu seras sûrement surprise de voir qu’une des lettres écrites dans le cadre de l’hommage à Amancio Williams, ton époux et associé quand tu exerçais la profession, t’est destinée. J’imagine aussi que c’est quelque chose qui te met mal à l’aise et dont tu te serais passée. Alors, je te demande pardon et les quelques paragraphes qui suivent t’expliqueront les motifs de ma « désobéissance ».

Le fonds d’archives Williams fera partie du patrimoine du Centre Canadien d’Architecture (CCA), une institution canadienne de premier plan vouée à la recherche, la réflexion et la critique dans le domaine de l’architecture. Elle possède une remarquable collection d’archives modernes et postmodernes. Je te le dis, Delfina, puisqu’il est possible qu’on ne t’ait pas mise au courant. Le fonds d’archives contient des projets que tu as codirigés, et qui sont, selon moi, les plus intéressants.

J’ai découvert le fonds d’archives Williams et le travail considérable abattu par Claudio Williams, ton fils, afin de cataloguer chaque plan et chaque dessin, de conserver et de diffuser l’œuvre d’Amancio. Admirable. Le fonds d’archives est le garant de la préservation de la mémoire collective. Sans cette mémoire, nous ne savons ni d’où nous venons ni où nous allons; c’est un mal qui afflige les Argentins et sans doute une des raisons pour lesquelles nous ne pouvons conserver ce fonds d’archives dans notre pays. Loin de moi l’idée de t’ennuyer, Delfina. Ce qui compte pour moi, c’est de t’expliquer pourquoi je t’ai écrit cette lettre.

La Maison sur le ruisseau (Casa sobre el Arroyo) à Mar del Plata est l’œuvre du fonds d’archives qui jouit de la plus grande reconnaissance. Je crois ne pas me tromper en affirmant qu’il s’agit d’une des œuvres qui confère aux archives une plus grande valeur. C’est une des rares œuvres d’Amancio à avoir été construite et qui encore de nos jours, malgré l’état d’abandon dans lequel elle se trouve, attire une nouvelle génération de visiteurs, qui la photographient et l’« instagrament » (je t’expliquerai à une autre occasion ce que cela signifie, Delfina). L’œuvre transcende sa modernité et les gens se l’approprient.

Delfina, cette maison est un de tes projets. Tu l’as bien sûr réalisé avec ton associé Amancio. Le projet aurait-il été le même si tu n’y avais pas contribué? Impossible de le savoir et cela n’a pas d’importance non plus. Seuls comptent les faits. Il s’agit ici d’un fonds d’archives et dans les fonds d’archives, les choses sont comme elles sont. Il te faudra l’accepter, même si à de multiples reprises, tu as dit ne souhaiter aucun crédit pour les œuvres de Williams auxquelles tu as contribué.

En 1942, un an après ton mariage, tu as réalisé ton premier projet avec Amancio et Jorge Vivanco : un immeuble d’appartements en bloc pour la ville de Buenos Aires, intitulé Logements dans l’espace (Viviendas en el espacio). Selon Roberto Fernández, « ces projets ont attiré l’attention et l’éloge du Corbusier, dans son (…) texte publié par la revue L’Homme et l’architecture en 1947 ».

On peut lire dans ta biographie publiée dans le blogue Un jour une architecte (Un día Una Arquitecta), sous la plume de Zaida Muxí : « La publication contemporaine d’Alberto Sartoris, Encyclopédie de l’architecture nouvelle, Milan, 1948, présente divers projets collaboratifs d’Amancio Williams et Delfina G. de Williams. Outre les œuvres collaboratives, on trouve des œuvres réalisées par Amancio Williams seul et d’autres auxquelles ont contribué César Janello, Colette Boccara de Janello et Jorge Butler. Cette reconnaissance de copaternité, sûrement mise de l’avant par Williams lui-même, disparaît dans la majorité des récits historiographiques le concernant ».

Tu sais sans doute qu’en septembre 2018, la Comisión de Monumentos, Lugares y Bienes Históricos (Commission des monuments, des lieux et des biens historiques) a décrété la paternité partagée de la Maison sur le ruisseau lors d’une présentation réalisée par l’architecte Carolina Quiroga. « La paternité de la Maison sur le ruisseau, conformément à la documentation analysée en profondeur, revient non seulement à Amancio Williams mais également à Delfina Gálvez. (…) Ce qui motive la révision des paternités des monuments ou des biens déclarés (…), afin d’empêcher la répétition de ces omissions intentionnelles. », précise la déclaration.

D’où la présente lettre, Delfina. Les femmes architectes d’aujourd’hui recherchent des modèles de référence. Nous souhaitons savoir ce qu’elles ont fait, ce qu’elles ont pensé, et comment elles ont fait face à des figures comme celle d’Amancio, « l’éminence argentine de l’architecture moderne », qui dans ta vie aura été ton camarade à l’université, ton époux, ton associé et le père de tes huit enfants.

Je suppose qu’une des stratégies pour pouvoir suivre ton propre chemin fut de lui laisser « l’architecture », pour consacrer ton talent et ton intelligence à d’autres choses, comme ta passion pour l’écriture, la présidence de l’Asociación de Mujeres Hispanistas (Association des femmes hispanistes) que tu as exercée jusqu’à tes 100 ans et la construction d’une famille nombreuse comptant tes enfants, tes petits-enfants et tes arrière-petits-enfants.

Merci, Delfina Gálvez, de représenter les femmes architectes au sein de ce précieux fonds d’archives qui nous réunit aujourd’hui. Nous savons que ton apport sera reconnu et valorisé, dans le cadre de cet hommage, bien que cela puisse t’incommoder. Nous nous dirigeons vers une époque où la visibilité des femmes dans l’histoire de l’architecture est fondamentale pour reconstruire notre mémoire et s’avère être une nécessité impérieuse pour toute la discipline.

Cayetana Mercé

Buenos Aires, 11 March 2020

1
1

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir de nos nouvelles

Courriel
Prénom
Nom
En vous abonnant, vous acceptez de recevoir notre infolettre et communications au sujet des activités du CCA. Vous pouvez vous désabonner en tout temps. Pour plus d’information, consultez notre politique de confidentialité ou contactez-nous.

Merci. Vous êtes maintenant abonné. Vous recevrez bientôt nos courriels.

Pour le moment, notre système n’est pas capable de mettre à jour vos préférences. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Vous êtes déjà inscrit avec cette adresse électronique. Si vous souhaitez vous inscrire avec une autre adresse, merci de réessayer.

Cete adresse courriel a été définitivement supprimée de notre base de données. Si vous souhaitez vous réabonner avec cette adresse courriel, veuillez contactez-nous

Veuillez, s'il vous plaît, remplir le formulaire ci-dessous pour acheter:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Prix [Price of book]

Prénom
Nom de famille
Adresse (ligne 1)
Adresse (ligne 2) (optionnel)
Code postal
Ville
Pays
Province / État
Courriel
Téléphone (jour) (optionnel)
Notes

Merci d'avoir passé une commande. Nous vous contacterons sous peu.

Nous ne sommes pas en mesure de traiter votre demande pour le moment. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Classeur ()

Votre classeur est vide.

Adresse électronique:
Sujet:
Notes:
Veuillez remplir ce formulaire pour faire une demande de consultation. Une copie de cette liste vous sera également transmise.

Vos informations
Prénom:
Nom de famille:
Adresse électronique:
Numéro de téléphone:
Notes (optionnel):
Nous vous contacterons pour convenir d’un rendez-vous. Veuillez noter que des délais pour les rendez-vous sont à prévoir selon le type de matériel que vous souhaitez consulter, soit :"
  • — au moins 2 semaines pour les sources primaires (dessins et estampes, photographies, documents d’archives, etc.)
  • — au moins 48 heures pour les sources secondaires (livres, périodiques, dossiers documentaires, etc.)
...