Querido Amancio, organized on the occasion of our new Amancio Williams fonds, featured a public reading of personal letters during which participants—Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Vekstein, and Claudio Williams—commented on the legacy of Amancio Williams. We will be publishing all of their letters in the coming weeks.

Martin Huberman shared the following:


Dear Amancio,

Exactly eight years ago, my relationship with your archive was just beginning. It began with a letter addressed to your son Claudio, asking permission to research your admired Shell Vaults. At the time, I had no intention other than to celebrate your work with a project that would reinterpret your designs by way of mere homage. It was an attempt that also aimed to make the most of the first centenary of your birth, a statement of intent on a date which, by first impression, seemed perfect.

Needless to say, that project was a resounding failure, the first of many—but it blazed a trail for a new way of looking at our History through ways of doing.

Today, after countless frustrations and some achievements, I can think of no better way to officially end our relationship than by writing this letter of farewell.

I won’t come crying to you of all people about projects that are nipped in the bud when you made an entire career out of it. What I will say is that it was that reiterative, almost blind projective positivism that made me really empathize with your work. I identified with that frequency, punctuated by the rhythmic rebound with which projects ring when they come up against governmental, cultural, academic, and social institutions.
No,
No,
No
and No.

Only then can one understand what this absurd conviction on which the architect is built tastes like—a conviction in which tomorrow is nothing more than the space in which someone will finally say yes to us.

With the passing of the years, as I went deeper into your history, those canonical opinions of your work that are now commonplace were erased: Amancio the utopian, the misunderstood, the architect before his time.

The one that fired me up again was Amancio the stubborn. All Argentinian architects qualify with a basic, unconditional, fanatical, almost Beatle-like love for the figure of the Great Amancio Williams. Partly, I believe, because you perfectly embody that steady gaze into the setting sun that we dream of when we become professionals, and partly I think because you managed to define a body of Work, revered in capital letters, without going through the tedium of building work, constructed in lower case. Then again, I suppose it’s out of envy of your eternal, implausibly smooth comb-back that set a standard for our achievements, as it watched our plodding student gaits from the stairwell of the Faculty of Architecture of the University of Buenos Aires.

In my case, it was not the smooth comb-back, Work versus work, or the steady gaze into the sunset of La Pampa, but the sly everyone-loves-a-winner smile that you proudly wear in that mythical photo of you finally standing on the Shell Vault after fifteen years of negotiation. Fifteen years. The same time it took the US space program to put a man on the moon. One small step for man, one giant leap for Amancio.

And so it was that I hit upon the moon-struck Amancio and, like those who had walked on our only natural satellite, never set foot on this Earth in the same way again. Some astronauts have said that they left a part of themselves up there. There was something of that, too, in your gaze.

Perhaps the real reason behind that ruse so often repeated in your work, that decision to restrict, to a minimum, the contact of your buildings with our soil, was simply the formalization of a longing, never expressed, to not take root in the land and, therefore, to be part of a greater whole.

With masterly skill, you made with a recognizable detachment the muddy homogeneity of Río de la Plata and the endless flatness of the Pampas a generic setting for your works. Those works never seemed to belong to one place or another.

I wonder, then, if this was not the purest of your determinations: to be inscribed in an eternal and therefore international register, to belong to a club that was, a priori, elusive due to a technical-geographical distance at which you could only truly shine through your graphic and epistolary work.

I imagine that, after so many years, some of this lunacy seeped into the emotional pulse of your family, prompting them to find for your archive a refuge across international waters. I have to say it is remarkable how they have for years stoically borne the abysmal weight of your archive, blindly believing in its incalculable heritage value and brandishing over and over the sword of frustration when faced with the negative frequency to which Argentina’s institutional reality has accustomed us.

It was in this context that the last of my defeats was born: the rescue of your archive. As if something in your work professed the pending and the unfinished, I was drawn to a story that we knew would end badly. A rescue venture disguised as digitization, a term that in your time meant something else, but which today rather resembles that ether for which you longed. It was during those years of amateur archivism, when your work acquainted me with the nuances of a discipline that is built on the work of others, that is organized by norms and protocols, but which, above all, helps to unblock the projective ego that we architects have, vital when devoting oneself obsessively to the other. By means of this venture, I knew drama, I redefined the idea of homeland, I touched the bottom of the cultural void looming over our discipline, but, most of all, I was able to experience first-hand the emotional exhaustion involved in protecting an archive.

Telling myself this was not a venture for everyone, I imagined your delight, like someone orchestrating a false funeral to see from a distance who was mourning him, gloating to see your figure growing and growing to a mythical status. Today, divided, a victim of cultural extractivism, Stolen Amancio, now a hero of a Hollywood story of historical redemption, Amancio Restored to his place in History.

The way I see it, it is interesting how your aspirations richly transpire from your archive. I find, particularly in your correspondence, which has always lived in the shadows of your drawing, the plates that were considered masterworks, the insufferable quantity of detailed plans and the untiring iterations of your essays, that we see that you always projected outwards.

Today it is this register, the epistolary, that once again places you at the level you thought your figure deserved, talked of not only by those of us who consider you our own but by those you always imagined as peers.

Some may argue that it was Fate, or even Historical Justice, that granted you this last wish: to leave this land for that eternity full of fellow architects. I cannot help thinking that, far from luck, fate, or any other-worldly phenomenon, what placed you on this path that you secretly drew behind the scenes was the feverish effort made by others, particularly that your family, to ensure your work was seen for its true value.

And it is on this head that all the stories concocted around your name suffer the most: the importance of those who consider your homeland and fragile heritage, those who return you to history in order to share you with the world, those who have dusted off oblivion to make you culture, those who have used you to militate a future they claim for themselves, and the dreamer who makes a trifling effort first to honour you and then to argue that he is rescuing you.

I am speaking from weariness, attrition, and the very frustration of failure, but today I cease to believe that those who, like you, have themselves built their own history, the masters who should be protected ad aeternum by ordinary mortals, are worthy of our blood, sweat, and tears.

After eight years of disregarding myself, I can now say to you that I will turn my back on you and instead look to those who make you great.

Strategically, our best bet is to devote ourselves to the living, who at least have the decency to answer the letters we send.

Your friend in time,

Martin
Buenos Aires, 11 March 2020

1
1

Sign up to get news from us

Email address
First name
Last name
By signing up you agree to receive our newsletter and communications about CCA activities. You can unsubscribe at any time. For more information, consult our privacy policy or contact us.

Thank you for signing up. You'll begin to receive emails from us shortly.

We’re not able to update your preferences at the moment. Please try again later.

You’ve already subscribed with this email address. If you’d like to subscribe with another, please try again.

This email was permanently deleted from our database. If you’d like to resubscribe with this email, please contact us

Please complete the form below to buy:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Price [Price of book]

First name
Last name
Address (line 1)
Address (line 2) (optional)
Postal code
City
Country
Province/state
Email address
Phone (day) (optional)
Notes

Thank you for placing an order. We will contact you shortly.

We’re not able to process your request at the moment. Please try again later.

Folder ()

Your folder is empty.

Email:
Subject:
Notes:
Please complete this form to make a request for consultation. A copy of this list will also be forwarded to you.

Your contact information
First name:
Last name:
Email:
Phone number:
Notes (optional):
We will contact you to set up an appointment. Please keep in mind that your consultation date will be based on the type of material you wish to study. To prepare your visit, we'll need:
  • — At least 2 weeks for primary sources (prints and drawings, photographs, archival documents, etc.)
  • — At least 48 hours for secondary sources (books, periodicals, vertical files, etc.)
...

Querido Amancio, organisée à l’occasion de notre nouveau fonds Amancio Williams, a donné lieu à une lecture publique de lettres personnelles, au cours de laquelle les participants - Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Vekstein et Claudio Williams - ont commenté l’héritage d’Amancio Williams. Nous publierons toutes leurs lettres dans les prochaines semaines.

Martin Huberman a fait part de ce qui suit :


Cher Amancio,

C’est il y a exactement huit ans que s’amorçait ma relation avec tes archives, à la faveur d’une lettre adressée à ton fils Claudio, dans laquelle je lui demandais la permission de faire des recherches sur les sublimes « voûtes pelure » (Bóvedas Cáscara). À l’époque, mes intentions n’étaient que la célébration de ton œuvre par un projet de réinterprétation de tes dessins sous la forme d’un simple hommage. Mon essai visait, en outre, à profiter du centenaire de ta naissance pour partager mes volontés à une date qui, à première vue, semblait presque patriotique.

Je tiens à préciser que si ce projet s’est soldé par un échec cuisant, le premier d’une série, il a ouvert la voie à une manière de voir notre histoire à travers le fait d’agir.

Aujourd’hui, après maintes frustrations et certaines réussites, je ne trouve pas de meilleure façon de mettre officiellement un terme à notre relation que de t’écrire cette lettre d’adieu.

Je ne m’apitoierai pas sur mes projets avortés, puisque ta carrière en est truffée. J’ose dire que c’est ce positivisme, réitératif et presque aveugle, qui a suscité mon empathie envers ton œuvre. Je me suis senti interpelé par le rythme irritant qui résonne dans les projets, lorsqu’ils se heurtent aux institutions gouvernementales, culturelles, universitaires et socialist.
Non,
non,
non
et non.

C’est seulement à ce moment-là qu’on peut saisir le goût de cette conviction absurde sur laquelle se construit l’architecte : le demain n’est rien d’autre qu’un espace dans lequel quelqu’un nous dira enfin oui.

Et ainsi se sont effacés, au fil des années, les regards canoniques sur ton œuvre, désormais banalisés : Amancio l’utopique, l’incompris, le pionnier.

Mais celui qui m’a séduit à nouveau, c’est Amancio le têtu. De nouveau, puisqu’il semble que tout architecte argentin éprouve un amour basique, inconditionnel, fanatique, digne des Beatles, envers la figure du grand Amancio Williams. Je crois que, d’un côté, c’est parce que tu incarnes à la perfection le regard qui enveloppe l’horizon crépusculaire, avec lequel nous rêvons de nous construire comme professionnels; et de l’autre, parce que tu as réussi à définir une Œuvre, vénérée avec une majuscule, sans souffrir l’ennui de l’œuvre, construite avec une minuscule. Ou bien, je suppose, que c’est par envie de l’invraisemblable et interminable toupet qu’imposait le standard de ce que nous devrions être, en veillant sur notre démarche paresseuse d’étudiants dans la cage d’escaliers de la Faculté d’architecture de l’Universidad de Buenos Aires.

Dans mon cas, ça n’a pas été le toupet, l’Œuvre versus l’œuvre, le regard enveloppant pour admirer le couchant dans la pampa, mais le sourire, narquois et conquérant, que tu arborais fièrement dans la photo mythique où tu te dresses finalement sur les « voûtes pelure » (Bóvedas Cáscara), après quinze ans de gestion. Quinze ans. Le temps que le programme spatial étasunien a pris pour envoyer un homme sur la Lune. Un petit pas pour l’homme, mais un pas de géant pour Amancio.

C’est ainsi que je suis tombé sur l’Amancio lunatique, similaire à ceux qui, après avoir foulé notre seul satellite naturel, ne posent plus les pieds sur Terre de la même manière. Certains ont même prétendu qu’un morceau d’eux était resté là-haut. C’est aussi cela qu’exprime ton regard.

Peut-être le véritable motif du stratagème récurrent dans ton œuvre, la décision de restreindre au minimum le contact de tes édifices avec notre sol, n’est-il que la simple formalisation du désir jamais exprimé de ne pas t’enraciner dans notre terre, afin de participer à un tout.

Un détachement reconnaissable au travers duquel, et avec force maestria, tu as su faire de l’homogénéité boueuse du Río de la Plata et de la vastitude plate des pampas, des scènes génériques pour tes œuvres. Tes œuvres ne semblaient donc pas provenir davantage d’un lieu que d’un autre.

Je me demande si telle n’aura pas été la plus pure de tes volontés : appartenir à un registre éternel, et donc international, à un club où t’éloignait a priori une distance techno-géographique, mais où tu as pu brandir avec succès la proximité de ton œuvre graphique et épistolaire.

J’imagine qu’après tant d’années, ce lunatisme a fini par prendre la forme d’un battement émotif pour ta famille, qui l’a amenée à chercher un refuge pour tes archives dans des eaux internationales. Je trouve remarquable que ta famille ait pu supporter pendant des années, et de manière stoïque, le poids abyssal de tes archives, croyant aveuglément en sa valeur patrimoniale pourtant incalculable, et brandissant maintes fois l’épée de la frustration, confrontée à la fréquence négative à laquelle nous a habitués la réalité institutionnelle argentine.

C’est dans ce contexte qu’est née la dernière de mes défaites : le sauvetage de tes archives. Comme si quelque chose dans ton œuvre militait pour la mise en suspens et l’absence de conclusion, je me suis vu attiré dans une histoire prédestinée à mal se terminer. Un projet de sauvetage déguisé en numérisation, un terme qui, à ton époque, revêtait une autre signification, mais qui aujourd’hui ressemble à l’éther pour lequel tu te languissais. Durant mes années d’archiviste amateur, ton œuvre m’a permis de passer au crible une discipline qui se construit à partir de l’œuvre étrangère, qui s’organise en normes et protocoles, mais qui surtout aide à désarmer l’égo du projet, propre aux architectes et fondamental lorsqu’il s’agit de se consacrer à l’autre de manière obsessive. À travers ce projet, j’ai connu le drame, redéfini l’idée de patrie et ai pu toucher le fond du vide culturel qui survole notre discipline. Mais surtout, j’ai pu vivre à la première personne l’usure émotive qu’entraîne la protection d’un fonds d’archives.

Tandis que je me disais que ce n’était pas pour n’importe qui, je t’imaginais gâteux, comme quelqu’un qui orchestre de fausses funérailles pour observer de loin ceux qui le pleurent, te réjouissant en voyant que ta figure continuait à croître jusqu’au statut de mythe. Mythe aujourd’hui dédoublé : l’Amancio volé, victime par moments de l’extractivisme culturel, et pour d’autres le héros d’un récit hollywoodien de rédemption historique, célébrant les retrouvailles d’Amancio avec sa place dans l’histoire.

De mon point de vue, il est intéressant de voir que tes archives laissent transparaître avec richesse tes aspirations. Je trouve que, particulièrement à travers ta correspondance, qui a vécu une dévalorisation à l’ombre des dessins, les planches qui se croient des œuvres maîtresses, la quantité faramineuse de plans de détails et les infatigables itérations de tes essais, on peut distinguer que tu t’es toujours projeté vers l’extérieur.

C’est aujourd’hui ce même registre, le registre épistolaire, qui te remet à la hauteur de ce que tu croyais digne de ta figure, un lieu qui est sur toutes les lèvres, non seulement de ceux parmi nous qui te considèrent vrai, mais aussi de ceux que tu as toujours imaginé comme tes pairs.

D’aucuns prétendront que ce fut le destin, ou la justice historique, qui t’a consenti cet ultime désir, celui d’abandonner nos terres vers une éternité qui regorge de confrères architectes. Je ne peux m’empêcher de penser que, loin de la chance, du destin ou de quelque autre phénomène de l’ordre de l’indompté, ce qui t’a permis d’atteindre le chemin que tu as tracé secrètement dans les coulisses, c’est l’effort surhumain accompli par d’autres, en particulier les membres de ta famille, pour vanter ton œuvre.

Et c’est sur ce point que souffrent tous les récits ébauchés concernant ton nom : l’importance de ceux qui t’accordent un statut patriotique et patrimonial fragile, ceux qui te renvoient à l’histoire pour te partager avec le monde, ceux qui ont dépoussiéré ce qui avait été oublié pour promouvoir ta culture, ceux qui t’ont projeté dans un avenir qu’ils réclament pour eux-mêmes; ou bien l’illusion d’un effort futile pour d’abord te rendre hommage, puis argumenter afin de te secourir.

Mes paroles découlent de la lassitude, de l’usure et de ma propre frustration de l’échec, mais aujourd’hui, je ne crois plus ceux qui, comme toi, ont construit leur histoire à partir d’eux-mêmes, les maîtres qu’il faut protéger ad vitam aeternam du commun des mortels, dignes de notre sang, de notre sueur et de nos larmes.

Après huit années de négligence envers ma personne, je peux te dire que je préfère te tourner le dos et m’adresser à ceux qui ont fait de toi un grand homme.

Sur le plan stratégique, il n’y a rien de mieux que de se consacrer aux vivants, qui ont au moins la décence de répondre aux lettres.

Ton ami dans le temps,

Martin
Buenos Aires, 11 March 2020

1
1

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir de nos nouvelles

Courriel
Prénom
Nom
En vous abonnant, vous acceptez de recevoir notre infolettre et communications au sujet des activités du CCA. Vous pouvez vous désabonner en tout temps. Pour plus d’information, consultez notre politique de confidentialité ou contactez-nous.

Merci. Vous êtes maintenant abonné. Vous recevrez bientôt nos courriels.

Pour le moment, notre système n’est pas capable de mettre à jour vos préférences. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Vous êtes déjà inscrit avec cette adresse électronique. Si vous souhaitez vous inscrire avec une autre adresse, merci de réessayer.

Cete adresse courriel a été définitivement supprimée de notre base de données. Si vous souhaitez vous réabonner avec cette adresse courriel, veuillez contactez-nous

Veuillez, s'il vous plaît, remplir le formulaire ci-dessous pour acheter:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Prix [Price of book]

Prénom
Nom de famille
Adresse (ligne 1)
Adresse (ligne 2) (optionnel)
Code postal
Ville
Pays
Province / État
Courriel
Téléphone (jour) (optionnel)
Notes

Merci d'avoir passé une commande. Nous vous contacterons sous peu.

Nous ne sommes pas en mesure de traiter votre demande pour le moment. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Classeur ()

Votre classeur est vide.

Adresse électronique:
Sujet:
Notes:
Veuillez remplir ce formulaire pour faire une demande de consultation. Une copie de cette liste vous sera également transmise.

Vos informations
Prénom:
Nom de famille:
Adresse électronique:
Numéro de téléphone:
Notes (optionnel):
Nous vous contacterons pour convenir d’un rendez-vous. Veuillez noter que des délais pour les rendez-vous sont à prévoir selon le type de matériel que vous souhaitez consulter, soit :"
  • — au moins 2 semaines pour les sources primaires (dessins et estampes, photographies, documents d’archives, etc.)
  • — au moins 48 heures pour les sources secondaires (livres, périodiques, dossiers documentaires, etc.)
...