Querido Amancio, organized on the occasion of our new Amancio Williams fonds, featured a public reading of personal letters during which participants—Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Williams, and Claudio Vekstein—commented on the legacy of Amancio Williams. We will be publishing all of their letters in the coming weeks.

Inés Moisset shared the following:



Dear Amancio,

I am so glad that your work is to be recognized and safeguarded.

Your contribution has been widely disseminated and will, probably, always be reviewed. A debt is still outstanding to your partner Delfina, one of the first Argentine architects. A precursor of modernity, to boot! Because, Amancio, you weren’t modern before you worked with her. Do you remember your first work, a picturesque residence in Mar del Plata? It was in your joint work like the houses in space and the home the two of you built over the stream for your parents that the avant-garde ideas emerged most forcefully. you worked on these projects together, as the publications of the time testify. You were one of the first to recognize the work of a woman as a partner.

As you wrote in a letter to Le Corbusier, Delfina had to take a step back from work to devote herself to caring for and educating your first three daughters. This is called a gender division of roles, and it was not an impediment to you continuing with your profession.

The archive also contains material about one of your collaborators, Colette Boccara, another pioneer, about whom much still remains unsaid. The archive is, then, also a memory of the work of Argentine women architects who were ignored and rendered invisible in later publications. Your archive will be one of the few to restore the memory and the voice of our pioneers.

Times have changed. We see things from different perspectives. In 1943 you wrote a text to your brother Mario that continues to thrill us today; it read: “The spirit of the time will ultimately triumph. Because it is better to have been among the first, to have helped and not to have hindered, to have understood, and not laughed or been outraged, to have accompanied and encouraged those who went before.” I am sure you will understand.

I send much love to you and kisses for that genius, Delfina.

Inés Moisset
Buenos Aires, 8 March 2020

1
1

Sign up to get news from us

Email address
First name
Last name
By signing up you agree to receive our newsletter and communications about CCA activities. You can unsubscribe at any time. For more information, consult our privacy policy or contact us.

Thank you for signing up. You'll begin to receive emails from us shortly.

We’re not able to update your preferences at the moment. Please try again later.

You’ve already subscribed with this email address. If you’d like to subscribe with another, please try again.

This email was permanently deleted from our database. If you’d like to resubscribe with this email, please contact us

Please complete the form below to buy:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Price [Price of book]

First name
Last name
Address (line 1)
Address (line 2) (optional)
Postal code
City
Country
Province/state
Email address
Phone (day) (optional)
Notes

Thank you for placing an order. We will contact you shortly.

We’re not able to process your request at the moment. Please try again later.

Folder ()

Your folder is empty.

Email:
Subject:
Notes:
Please complete this form to make a request for consultation. A copy of this list will also be forwarded to you.

Your contact information
First name:
Last name:
Email:
Phone number:
Notes (optional):
We will contact you to set up an appointment. Please keep in mind that your consultation date will be based on the type of material you wish to study. To prepare your visit, we'll need:
  • — At least 2 weeks for primary sources (prints and drawings, photographs, archival documents, etc.)
  • — At least 48 hours for secondary sources (books, periodicals, vertical files, etc.)
...

Querido Amancio, organisée à l’occasion de notre nouveau fonds Amancio Williams, a donné lieu à une lecture publique de lettres personnelles, au cours de laquelle les participants - Emilio Ambasz, Florencia Álvarez, Giovanna Borasi, Fernando Diez, Kenneth Frampton, Mario Gandelsonas, Juan Herreros, Martin Huberman, Cayetana Mercé, Inés Moisset, Ciro Najle, Ana Rascovsky, Claudio Vekstein et Claudio Williams - ont commenté l’héritage d’Amancio Williams. Nous publierons toutes leurs lettres dans les prochaines semaines.

Inés Moisset a fait part de ce qui suit :



Cher Amancio :

Combien je me réjouis que votre œuvre puisse être reconnue et préservée !

Ta contribution a bénéficié d’une vaste diffusion et pourra toujours être révisée. Mais nous devons nous acquitter d’une dette envers ton associée Delfina, une des premières architectes argentines, ainsi qu’une précurseuse de la modernité. Parce que toi, Amancio, tu n’étais pas moderne avant de travailler avec elle. Te souviens-tu que ta première œuvre était un chalet pittoresque à Mar del Plata? C’est dans les œuvres conjointes comme le projet de logements dans l’espace et la maison que vous avez construite sur un ruisseau pour tes parents, qu’apparaissent avec force les idées avant-gardistes. Ces œuvres sont le fruit de votre collaboration, comme en témoignent les publications de l’époque. Tu as été un des premiers à reconnaître le travail d’une femme en tant qu’associée.

Ainsi que tu l’as raconté dans une lettre au Corbusier, Delfina a dû s’éloigner du travail pour élever vos trois premières filles. C’est ce qu’on appelle la répartition des rôles selon le sexe, et cela ne t’a pas empêché d’exercer ta profession.

Les archives contiennent également du matériel sur une de tes collaboratrices, Colette Boccara, une autre pionnière, sur laquelle il y aurait beaucoup à dire. Les archives représentent aussi une mémoire de la production des architectes argentines qui furent ignorées et rendues invisibles par les publications postérieures. Tes archives seront parmi les rares à honorer la mémoire de nos pionnières et à leur donner une voix.

Les temps ont changé. Nos regards adoptent des perspectives nouvelles. En 1943, tu écrivais à ton frère Mario, dans un texte émouvant : « L’esprit de l’époque finira par triompher. Il est mieux d’avoir fait partie des premiers, d’avoir contribué et non d’avoir dressé des obstacles, d’avoir compris, et de ne pas avoir ri ou s’être indigné, d’avoir accompagné et encouragé les précurseurs. » Je suis certaine que tu comprendras.

Je t’envoie beaucoup d’affection et embrasse pour moi la géniale Delfina.

Inés Moisset
Buenos Aires, le 8 mars 2020

1
1

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir de nos nouvelles

Courriel
Prénom
Nom
En vous abonnant, vous acceptez de recevoir notre infolettre et communications au sujet des activités du CCA. Vous pouvez vous désabonner en tout temps. Pour plus d’information, consultez notre politique de confidentialité ou contactez-nous.

Merci. Vous êtes maintenant abonné. Vous recevrez bientôt nos courriels.

Pour le moment, notre système n’est pas capable de mettre à jour vos préférences. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Vous êtes déjà inscrit avec cette adresse électronique. Si vous souhaitez vous inscrire avec une autre adresse, merci de réessayer.

Cete adresse courriel a été définitivement supprimée de notre base de données. Si vous souhaitez vous réabonner avec cette adresse courriel, veuillez contactez-nous

Veuillez, s'il vous plaît, remplir le formulaire ci-dessous pour acheter:
[Title of the book, authors]
ISBN: [ISBN of the book]
Prix [Price of book]

Prénom
Nom de famille
Adresse (ligne 1)
Adresse (ligne 2) (optionnel)
Code postal
Ville
Pays
Province / État
Courriel
Téléphone (jour) (optionnel)
Notes

Merci d'avoir passé une commande. Nous vous contacterons sous peu.

Nous ne sommes pas en mesure de traiter votre demande pour le moment. Veuillez réessayer plus tard.

Classeur ()

Votre classeur est vide.

Adresse électronique:
Sujet:
Notes:
Veuillez remplir ce formulaire pour faire une demande de consultation. Une copie de cette liste vous sera également transmise.

Vos informations
Prénom:
Nom de famille:
Adresse électronique:
Numéro de téléphone:
Notes (optionnel):
Nous vous contacterons pour convenir d’un rendez-vous. Veuillez noter que des délais pour les rendez-vous sont à prévoir selon le type de matériel que vous souhaitez consulter, soit :"
  • — au moins 2 semaines pour les sources primaires (dessins et estampes, photographies, documents d’archives, etc.)
  • — au moins 48 heures pour les sources secondaires (livres, périodiques, dossiers documentaires, etc.)
...